Skip to content

The Dog Day of Summer

August 5, 2010

I am taking a page out of Bethany’s book, but tweaking it a little by giving you a live update every hour on the hour…

8:00 AM     Windows are open.  Cool Breeze drifting in.  Homemade chocolate-chocolate-chip muffins cooling on the stove.  Children in the family room, noses in their own books.  A silent house.

9:00 AM     Still in my pajamas.  Hoping there is a muffin left for me.  [There wasn't.]  Phone ringing.  Kids squealing at the TV.  (Ruff Ruffman’s collar is missing!)  And me?  I am trying to comment on Liz’s beautiful children.  Almost time for my breakfast.

10:00 AM     Reading my textbook–having a difficult time focusing.  Kids are supposed to be cleaning up their rooms, the basement, and the things that linger in the rest of the house.  Their incentive?  The Beach!  I have no idea if they are actually cleaning or not, I wonder what they are up to…

11:00 AM     Chatting on the phone with a friend.  Kids outside bathing Baby Alive.  No interest in going to the beach, so we will just hang out here.

NOON          Taking lunch orders.  Looking for quotes for the school tee-shirts.  Kids lounging in the background.

1:00 PM      Windows are still open.  Loving the cool caress of the breeze.  Finishing up lunch with dessert:  Chocolate pudding.  Happy kids all around.  Ignoring the dishes to get back to reading.  Still have so much to read.

2:00 PM     Reading on the patio in the warm sun.  Almost done with Chapter 8.  Trying to read through chapter 11–HA!  Hallucinating again.  Kids need to get kicked outside, it is too beautiful to be in doors.  What are they up to now?

3:00 PM     Sneaking chocolate chips from the fridge.  Facebooking.  Kicked kids outside earlier.  Chapter 8 is done, chapter 9 is started, but I need a break.  Going to work on my paper that is due tomorrow.  [From my class in July.]

4:00 PM     Yelling at singing children to get outside.  Writing my paper.  Almost done with Part I, maybe I can write Part II now too!  Thinking about dinner, what to make.  Wishing to go out to eat on a roof top patio.  It is a perfect night for it.

5:00 PM     Talking on the phone again with a different friend.  Paper is done!  Beginning Dinner–Spaghetti, and DISHES.

6:00 PM      Sauce is made.  Waiting for water to boil for the noodles.  Going to begin making garlic toast, when EMERGENCY!  Katie has a stick jetting out from the top of her foot.  It looks huge.  I had to pull it out, but imagined every scene from ER where they yell….”Don’t pull it out!  She’ll BLEED OUT!”  Pulled it out, it hardly bled, and she didn’t even wince.  And I didn’t even faint.  Jeff comes home after the drama has passed.

7:00 PM     Dinner on the patio at our own house is finishing.  I am slicing fresh peaches while Jeff does the dishes.

8:00 PM     Getting ready for bed.  Sun going down.  Reading  Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle, Maniac McGee, and Leprechauns in Late Winter in separate rooms to separate kids.  My favorite thing about being a mom.

9:00 PM     Posting my August Break.  A successful day.

How was yours?

6 Comments
  1. August 6, 2010 1:50 am

    That was SO great!

    • August 6, 2010 7:17 pm

      Thanks Liz. Inspired by Bethany’s Live! Blogs, and the fact that when I got up all three of my kids were silently reading their own books. I needed to document that!

  2. August 6, 2010 6:55 am

    I love this! And you didn’t get ONE chocolate chip muffin? SO WRONG.

    Now I have to know, what kind of dog is Franklin? He looks very poodle-y but doesn’t have that poodle face.

    You are going to get SO MUCH reading done this weekend. It’s gonna be a completely bananas weekend for both of us!

    • August 6, 2010 7:23 pm

      Jeff made SIX muffins. They each ate TWO. Having three kids is where I went wrong. If everything had gone according to plan, I would have had TWO muffins of my own. Ah, well. I guess I will keep them.

      Franklin is a Bichon/Maltese mix. Ralphie was a poodle. He was our first dog, who died two and half years ago. He, of course, was the perfect dog. Poor Franklin is compared to him constantly.

      So far, I haven’t gotten ANY reading done. I have been actually concentrating on writing a post. I have to do the dishes and then, I might break out a novel and say, “To Hell With The Work.” And then again, I might not. I wish I had all weekend like you. I only have tonight. I have a feeling they will be back bright and early too.

  3. August 9, 2010 10:40 am

    “Having three kids is where I went wrong” = hahahaha! It’s the twin genes and not the fact that your husband only made six muffins, eh? :) Thanks for the little look at your summer!

    • August 9, 2010 11:28 pm

      Thank YOU for all of the inspiration, and for laughing at my joke. Thank you for getting it! I, of course, made myself laugh with it too. :)

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

