Skip to content

Happy Easter!

April 24, 2011

I have been watching bad TV for the last two hours, even though I have a VERY long list of “to do.”  My accomplishments for the weekend are amazing and I am usually very self-critical.  I am tired.  I was just going to check my email and head off to bed, but then I saw a few postings that I couldn’t wait to read, and then, well I needed to wish you all Happy Easter!

I have noticed something crazy about myself.  I don’t like to begin projects, or, uh, work.  It always feels so overwhelming.  My normal self dialogue:  “Look!  Look at that HUGE stack of papers I need to correct!  Oh, and I know that TEST is in there, that is going to take me FOREVER!  I am going to go eat some chocolate ice cream instead.”  (This is the equivalent to plugging your ears and yelling “LALALALALA!”)  I do this incessantly.  However, once I start my work, it seems like I can’t stop.  PLUS?  I get irritated when I am interrupted.  Grumpy too.  And Crabby.  You all know that I have three kids, a husband, and a little white yappy dog, right?

This weekend has been all about the starting:  “Oh, my goodness.  I REALLY don’t want to correct those tests.  I have to make up a rubric to go with it!  And!  I have to actually DO THE TEST in order to correct it.  It is going to take me FOREVER.  I will never finish!  (……….)  FINE.  I will DO THE DAMN TEST.   Are you happy now???  Geez.”

And the stopping:  “Mommy!  We have to go to the store!  YOU SAID you would buy us bagels for breakfast!  We need eggs to color too!”

And the starting:  Now, where was I?

And the stopping:  “Hey woman!  We need to go drop my car off, remember?”

You get the picture.  You will be glad to know that the tests are corrected, graded and the grades are posted.  The homework for the last unit has also been graded.  I still have stuff left to go over, but nothing LATE anymore.  I can’t help but feel a bit frustrated though.  If I could START and work until I FINISHED I probably would still have the same amount of time to spend with everyone.  I spend (waste) so much time trying to figure out where I left off.  And, every time I go back I go through that same self dialogue:  “Look at that!  Yuck!  I really don’t want to do it right now…maybe I could watch TV and write a post instead?”

Yep.

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend!  Spring has sprung.  The rebirth has begun!

8 Comments
  1. April 25, 2011 12:10 pm

    It’s amazing how much you can get done if you ignore the voices in your head and just do it, eh? haha! Loved this! Happy Easter, Megsie!

    • May 26, 2011 2:28 pm

      Ignore the voices? Hmmm. A new concept. I may try that. Now, how do I block them out?

  2. May 9, 2011 9:25 am

    Yep, I do the mental “LALALALALA”ing too, only I don’t usually end up with blog post out of it. :) Happy [late] Easter to you, your beautiful kids, and your little white yappy dog too!

    • May 26, 2011 2:30 pm

      Ah, but the blog post was part of the procrastination, just like cleaning the kitchen when you should be doing something else…or you know, remodeling a room…Just kidding. I would only get half way through the remodel and then I would be procrastinating that! xo

  3. May 13, 2011 8:50 am

    Just landed here after linking from Christina, and I love your writing. You crack me up AND make me think and make me feel a little more normal about my life and my own insanity. I’ll be bookmarking and watching from just two hours away in Winona. :)

    • May 26, 2011 3:02 pm

      Hi Barb! Thanks for stopping by. I will be visiting you soon, you are on my list. I can’t wait to get to know you!

  4. May 14, 2011 12:49 pm

    I soooooo relate to the stopping and starting thing. And your description cracked me up. STARTING is the hardest thing for me without a doubt; the bigger the project, the harder it is to start. Somehow how good it needs to be grows as I delay starting, which makes things even harder to get going! I can say something I’ve started doing that helps me sometimes is jotting notes to myself when I stop – thoughts of where my head is, what comes next. It *sometimes* helps with the re-starting.

    Mostly though, humor seems to be the best way of managing it all, and from the sounds of it, you’ve got that one covered :-)

    • May 26, 2011 3:03 pm

      Thanks Willow! Sometimes the notes help, but I am so random that they confuse me sometimes…yeah.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

