Skip to content

Summer Vacation Begins…

June 16, 2011

Well.  Summer Vacation has begun.  The kids are home.  The house is in shambles.  (Pictured above:  an abandoned fort in the family room.)  The occasional shrieks that make your heart stop are slowly becoming the norm.  We have had two play dates, several minor injuries, numerous tears, one sleepover, watched a lifetime’s worth of old Hannah Montana DVDs with occasional breaks to watch the tried and true Tom & Jerry cartoons of old.  I have outlawed DS games, ordered children outside, downstairs, upstairs…We have grooved to the summer CD that I burned, cranked up to 10, made dinner together, gone out for ice cream, and eaten all of the chocolate chip cookies that Jeff made.  It hasn’t even been a week.

Yesterday, the kids took one for the team.  The first exciting errand they were dragged to was the Vet, Franklin needed his shots.  We dropped him off at home and went to the garden store to shop for Jeff’s Father’s Day present.  I thought we would buy him a replacement rose for the one that looks dead to me that he planted last year.  We ended up buying him a rose-bush that will not need the TLC that a hybrid needs.

We ended up bringing home much more than that:

My husband’s dream is to own an apple orchard.  I think we could start out with an apple tree in our yard, don’t you?  And why not throw in some blueberries for good measure?  Our raspberries are already well on their way to becoming a pie:

I just hope it makes him happy.  I am totally excited to see what we get, and when.

After we dropped off our brand-new apple tree at home and ate lunch, we went right back to shopping.  My dad’s present needed to be purchased because the celebration dinner was scheduled for LAST NIGHT.  We found exactly what he asked for, and decided to look for Jeff’s dad as well.  Then, we went to Target to get cards.  Let’s just say we were not the only ones there buying cards.  Geez.  I love that Target has EVERYTHING.  So, we got some deodorant and some blueberries and came back home.  I promptly began making the blueberry pie.  When that was done, it was time to leave to go to dinner!  The kids were so sick of shopping by the end.  Sarah helped me de-stem the blueberries, and wrapped my dad’s present.  He was one happy camper…blueberry pie is his favorite!

Today, I should be baking and cooking.  I have a “retreat” to go to tomorrow for my Reading Department.  I will only be gone one night, but I am still a bit nervous.  I don’t know my colleagues very well, and I just hope it goes okay.  I am bringing an egg bake and chocolate chip scones for breakfast on Saturday morning, and some water and cheese and crackers for snacks, oh, and um, some cheetos.  I really don’t know what to pack to wear.  It will shock you to hear that I am avoiding doing any packing or baking right now.  Somehow, it will be done before tomorrow.

The reason this trip was planned was because one of my colleagues suggested beginning a bookclub with our department and it turned into a weekend retreat.  The book we read is called The Girl Who Fell From the Sky, by Heidi Durrow.  I really enjoyed this book.  It is set in the 1980′s and is about the ramifications of moving from Europe to the United States as a mixed race child.  I could hardly put the book down, and it is still with me during the quiet moments of the day.  I am excited to talk about it tomorrow, if we do.  I think the “bookclub” part might have been forgotten, unfortunately.  I would certainly recommend this book to anyone.  I would love to hear what you all think!

I am sorry I haven’t written more frequently.  I don’t really understand it myself, I have time.  It just doesn’t feel like I have much to say.  Do you ever feel that way?  I know it is part of being in the habit of writing.  I should do a little “write a post every day” for a week or two.  I know when I do that I am amazed at how much I habitually miss when I am not writing.

I would love to hear what you are thinking about today!

10 Comments
  1. June 18, 2011 9:36 am

    oh gosh you don’t want to know what I am thinking — a jumble, complete jumble of tumbling thoughts– but I am super intrigued by that book and will check it out once I get down to Provy and have a relationship with the local library .. . xoxoxo

    • June 18, 2011 7:53 pm

      I would love to hear what you think about it. It was based on a true story, but it is fiction. We had a great discussion about it this morning. This made me infinitely happy :) xo back at you…

  2. June 20, 2011 11:55 am

    I will check that book out, too…it sounds fascinating! How nice to have an update from you just when I am trying to get caught back up after being offline FOREVER!!

    • July 1, 2011 4:40 pm

      I so missed you when you were offline. I just expect you to be there, you know. When you are away, I am sad…So. I am glad your back!! Read the book and let me know what you think!!

  3. June 21, 2011 6:59 am

    I have that book waiting in my to-read pile! well, my to-read pile that got packed up and is now in a bookshelf *shaking my head*. I really do want to read it – will pull it out so I don’t forget!

    I love all the plants for Father’s Day presents! I need to remember this idea in the future. Several years I ago I bought a crepe myrtle tree for my day and somehow stuffed it in my little red car (along with Velcro, my dog) to take down to the farm.

    Hope that your retreat goes well and that you have fun! An egg bake…that sounds yummy!

    • July 1, 2011 4:43 pm

      The retreat went really well! It was so nice and it was fun to have an extended time to get to know my colleagues better. The egg bake WAS AWESOME. I want more now. Hmmm. It was my mom’s recipe, and one of my favorites when I was growing up. It is always comforting when you have food from your childhood, isn’t it?

      Please read the book and report back! I can’t wait to see what you think!

  4. June 25, 2011 7:31 pm

    you had me at “the house is in shambles.” oh yes. happy summer Meg!

    • July 1, 2011 4:45 pm

      It is still in shambles. I think it is going to be until they go back to school, and even then it is a struggle! Do you have any time off soon? I do feel sorry for you workingworkingworking all the time. It is all for a good outcome though, and will not be forever!

  5. June 30, 2011 8:06 pm

    That book sounds great! Just went on my list for summer reading!

    And I know what you mean about posting. Haven’t posted in over 3 weeks myself… I like the reminder about making it a daily practice to write.

    • July 1, 2011 4:46 pm

      I just posted and I am going to make more of an effort now. July. New month. New chance to get it right. I hope you read the book and then report back! I can’t wait to see what you think!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

