Skip to content

Some like it Hot, others like it Freezing, I like it about 80.

July 1, 2011

Today is hothothot again.  So different than last week when we were clad in sweatshirts and drowning in rain.  We longed to see the sun, and now?  We are hiding inside with the air conditioning AND fans blowing.  We had two days this week of *perfect* weather.  Low humidity, sun and 80 degrees.  Bliss.  Heaven.  But we are back on the fringes of extreme again.  It is amazing how the weather affects the mood, isn’t it?  I just want to lie down in front of a vent and sleep.  This heat zaps my energy.

It seems like everything zaps my energy lately.  The motivation is low and has been since work ended.  We have been working on Katie’s room bit by bit, but that is all.  So much to do, and I am ignoring it.  I read a post by Laini yesterday that really made me think.  She talked about how we are all in charge of ourselves, and we have such little control over things that we should take charge and control what we can.  Like, eating right so we feel healthy.  And, accomplishing things so we feel competent.  It feels good when a task is accomplished, and then you are making yourself happy!  On the flip side, you can do what I have been doing…letting life just happen.  And when nothing happens, oh, well.  So, the goal was to catch up with Laini.  I hadn’t read her new blog since the first “test” because it happened right when I went back to work for spring semester.  I never RSS-ed it, so out of sight, out of mind.  I went back and read it all this week.  I am happy to say, I am up to date now!  (She is so *awesome* and has a new book coming out soon:  The Daughter of Smoke and Bone.  I can’t wait to read it!)

This is an excellent example of the time suck that takes my attention, self-inflicted, I might add.

So, after reading her most awesome blog, I have been shamed because of my lack of writing here.  I need to get back in the habit, and I am starting today…July First.  Bear with me, because I have really nothing to say, but I am going to write anyway.  You may use this space as a sleeping aid, because I am sure it is going to be less than engaging.  I am sorry about that.  Hopefully you will keep reading on anyway.

I have begun a new book called The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot.  It is so good.  Wow.  Amazing.  Read this.  I am about half way right now.  Rebecca Skloot is a wonderful writer, and this is an incredible topic.  I will write more when I finish it.  My next book will be Hunger Games, from intellectual to fluff.  I love me some fluff though!  Many of you said you would read The Girl Who Fell From the Sky.  I am so excited to hear what you think!!  You are required to come back here and tell me!  Promise?  Good.

On the family front, today Sarah went with my sister and her family to Iowa for two days.  She has had sleep overs with them before, but never has she been away from home for more than 24 hours.  She was a bit nervous, but super excited.   I am feeling like my baby is growing up…she will be TEN this month!  Double Digits.  A whole decade!  I can’t really believe it.  It seems like yesterday I was SO PREGNANT and  yet NOT AT ALL READY for that new baby to come.  I remember when I began going to the doctor every week, I would say I can’t have the baby this week because we are going to dinner on Saturday night and we have movie night on Monday.  Every week I had some reason why it wasn’t a good week for the baby to come.  My doctor would smile and say, “Okay,” but I know she knew I was in for a big surprise in the near future.  (Spoiler alert:  She was RIGHT!)

Tonight we are going out to dinner.  I am so happy about that. I don’t know where we are going, but I do need to figure out what I will be wearing and I also need to tidy up, so…until next time!

What are you up to?

2 Comments
  1. July 2, 2011 3:35 am

    First day of vacation here so I’m pretty much a TOTAL SLUG. We had the hothothot for a few days but now we’re back to rainy grey. Have to go shopping myself for Karin’s birthday in a couple of weeks. She’s turning 12. How DO they grow up so damn fast??

    • July 2, 2011 9:48 pm

      Oh! Yay! Vacation~ finally. I hope you had time to NAP. I want to nap. Somehow I hardly ever do though. I really don’t know how time could have slipped away so fast. When is Karin’s birthday? I never really realized that she is two years older than Sarah. I guess I have never done the math!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

