Skip to content

It’s Black Raspberry Time!

July 15, 2011

 

Jeff has been picking handfuls of berries while out on his runs for the past week.  I don’t stop on my runs, because I may never start again, but I have been surveying the berry patch since we picked strawberries in June.  Yesterday, one of my best friends from College invited us over to her house because she has a HUGE black raspberry patch in her backyard.  We picked for two hours.  I brought home A LOT of berries!  YUM!

And the best part?

Muffins!  (Recipe here, from Joy the Baker.)

In other wildly exciting news, my baby got her ears pierced!  Sarah will be 1o next Tuesday, so my mom’s gift was the ear-piercing.  She is over the moon and was so brave.  Now she is obsessed with her ears.  “Time to do my ears mommy!”  I don’t do ears.  She takes care of it perfectly.

 

One last thing:

Let’s talk about The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins, shall we?  First of all I have heard about this book.  I have heard how addictive it is and how everyone loves it.  When it was suggested for my bookclub, I was really excited!  I wanted to read it, and I love books that suck you right in there and you can’t get out.  I really didn’t know what I would be sucked into though.  I could NOT put this book down, and when I did, all I did was think about it.  I thought it was perfectly paced and so full of suspense…so well written.  The subject matter was disturbing, and brutal.  I, of course, thought too much about it.  Especially with the way politics in our country is so polarized.  It isn’t hard to imagine it breaking apart because those who have been entrusted to uphold the value of compromise have come to the conclusion that compromise is a form of weakness.  Without compromise, in my opinion, we get dictatorship.  Isn’t that what the “my way or the highway” is all about?  This is a glimpse into the future, where there is no compromise.  There is only one way.  The leaders of this new world are all-powerful.  Human lives are a game to them.  I am not sure I liked this book.  However, I will be buying the next two books in this series.  I am completely sucked into this story.  It makes you think, it makes you worry.  I think it might be an important book to read, in order to avoid this future all together.

Do you have anything to add?

10 Comments
  1. July 15, 2011 9:51 am

    So…are black raspberries different that blackberries? ‘Cause those sure look like what we call blackberries around here! The muffins…now I am inspired to make some blueberry ones! Maybe for Thomas’ birthday tomorrow…

    Oh, The Hunger Games. I am super excited because Beaux is finally reading it. I have half a mind to borrow his Kindle during the day and re-read it with him! It really does make you think, doesn’t it? Like you, I was completely absorbed in this really disturbing world. (What was so disturbing about the Games part was that I was horrified that they televised it for the nation to watch, but at the same time I found myself thinking, “This would be SO COOL to watch!”) Now I just have to read it again so I can discuss it with you and Beaux properly.

    All I know is that I would probably not make it in a future like that. My survival skills are very poor! Whether it’s a zombie apocalypse or the country going crazy…my odds are not good.

    • August 5, 2011 6:46 pm

      Black raspberries and blackberries are different! I looked at http://www.raspberryblackberry.com/local.cfm?doc=webdocs/faqs.htm#q6
      for a good explanation:

      “How do you tell the difference between a blackberry and black raspberry? The most obvious difference is that a black raspberry is hollow — the core of the fruit stays on the plant when it is picked, while the core stays in a blackberry. Black raspberry fruit are also smaller, less shiny. and have a bluish waxy coating between the sections of the berry.”

      And, I think blueberries would be fantastic in the muffins as well! Oh, I want one now. They are so yummy.

      So, what did you think about the second and third books? I am curious what your reaction was. How did Beau like it/them? My survival skills were put to the test when it was hot and humid and our AC went out. I survived, but barely. We could go eat the berries together, right?

      I am also thrilled that you liked The girl who fell from the sky!

  2. July 15, 2011 2:33 pm

    It was a pick for Little Big Bookgroup here, and I too found it very disturbing, especially reading it aloud with my kids. But talk about sucked in! The kids demanded the next 2 books and zoomed through them on their own. It seemed a little too simplistic to me, that something like that could really happen, but there was a lot that was very uncomfortably close to what-could-be, I thought. Warning: I thought the ending was a cop-out. :)

    • August 5, 2011 6:51 pm

      I kept trying to guess what could possibly happen for the end to be a cop-out as I read the other two books. I think you are right. It doesn’t really end. It just keeps going and she is this sort of has-been star. You would have thought there would be a powerful ending where right conquers wrong, but I was just kind of left wanting that, but realizing it was never to come. That said, I still read both books with an obsession to finish. And the ending wasn’t TOO bad. I wasn’t let down, or angry. Maybe it is just one more shiver down the spine at how this could happen in real life. Not that it will. I hope.

  3. July 22, 2011 4:45 am

    mmmmmm, yummy looking berries! I’m jealous but now in a proper summer for a month in Spain, so can’t complain about not getting summer anymore!

    You made me very curious about the book. I don’t really like disturbing, but it can be so gripping and really really make you think. I just read Room by Emma Donoghue, about a 5 year old boy and his mother who live in a room where the mom’s been captive for 7 years. WOW. Disturbing and powerful to tell it through the voice of the child. And such a beautiful portrayal of the mother-son relationship under horrible conditions; it really made me think and I couldn’t put it down!

    • August 5, 2011 6:54 pm

      It isn’t disturbing enough to scare you. It just makes you think about how demented human beings can be when drunk on power. You should read it, I would love to hear what you think. You have such a wonderful way of seeing the big picture and articulating it so all of us can see it too.

      I am now curious about Room. It is on my list, but my play-time reading has come to an end. NO MORE FUN READING. Only work. Boo hoo.

  4. August 2, 2011 8:43 am

    Ooo, finally a book I’ve been able to read! My 12-year-old brother-in-law was reading it for school when I visited in January, so I stole it for one night. :) Of course, I’m dying a little bit over not having the two sequels; like you, I couldn’t put the book down (see above re: finishing it in one night), and I’m still chewing over the story in my mind. Disturbing, yes, but absolutely fascinating. Let me know what you think about the other two once you’ve read them!

    • August 5, 2011 6:58 pm

      Oh, my gosh. It must be torture to be kept from the rest of the series. When will you be back so you can read them?? I felt like it was really one book in three volumes. I could not stop until they were all read and done. The first one was the best, but I liked the other two because the story just keeps going…same characters…but more involved, it progresses to the final act, and then ends. I would have liked a more spectacular ending, but it was still good.

      I am so glad your back! I missed you!

  5. dee permalink
    August 5, 2011 8:00 am

    The book sounds like the republican intelligentsia, no thanks I’ll pass on the book.

    However I’ll line up for one of those muffins.

    Dee

  6. August 5, 2011 7:01 pm

    Hi Dee,

    Thanks so much for stopping by! The Hunger Games are so far beyond our little government squabbles that it shouldn’t worry you, but it did me anyway.

    The muffins were definitely worth the lining up for…YUM.

    I am so glad you commented! I hope you come back again!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

