Skip to content

And, we’re home.

August 5, 2011

I can’t believe it has been THREE WEEKS since my last post.  We have had so much to do and so many places to be that I don’t really know where to start.  And the photos.  I don’t know if I have the energy to deal with them.  We shall see if I get a second wind by the time I am done writing.

I guess I will start with my embarrassment of a misspelled word.  The title of a recent post (if you can still call it recent…) had the word helicopter spelled with two “L’s”.  I didn’t notice it, and a new person who had never commented before commented, but ONLY about the misspelled word and the irony that it followed the word literacy.  There haven’t been many people who comment here, very few that I don’t know.  Today I had two.  One of which was a reprimand.  I am so embarrassed, and I feel so stupid.  I know I have told you before how spelling and I are not great friends.  I try hard to get along, but spelling is just mean.  There are  many words that look fine to me, but are wrong.  Thank goodness Spell-check is a good friend.  There is no spell-check in the title area.  I have re-read the title for this post several times to make sure it is all spick and span.  I hope that it is.  So, my apologies.

So, let’s see where did my life leave off….Black Raspberries.  Wow.  That was a while ago.  Here is what has been happening around here:

1.  Sarah turned TEN.  Double digits.  She had a party at the lake with all of her friends.  It was so fun, and easy.  I recommend it.

2.  We went to a cabin up north with my sister and her family and three of my niece’s friends.  The kids had a blast swimming in the lake, riding on the back of a jet ski, jumping on the water trampoline, and paddle-boating.  (Oh, and eating s’mores by the fire pit).  The cabin was really a luxury home that is owned by my brother-in-law’s boss.  It was bigger than  two of my house.  I read the second and third books in the Hunger Games series and enjoyed them.  I also began knitting a kitchen towel that I love.

3.  My uncle died of Alzheimer’s Disease.  It was time, but geez.  It still seems like he should still be here.  We went back to Walnut Grove to go through the museum.  We stayed over night and the kids were fishes.  My uncle was such a kind man.  He always was in a good mood and had a smile on his face.  I am still kind of in denial.  He was 75.  My grandmother was out of it.  She didn’t appear to be grieving at all.  My aunt suffers from schizophrenia, and was deeply troubled by my uncle’s death.  She is in a wheel chair and has a lot of mobility issues.  Jeff and my sister’s husband and I were assigned to help her in and out of the car and drive her to the luncheon and back.  Holy moly.  This was a job.  The service was held at the cemetery at my grandfather’s grave site.  It was a perfectly beautiful day.  Not too hot, not chilly, but very sunshiny.  The cemetery had very uneven grounds with little hills and holes all over.  The wheel chairs were not the four-wheeling type.  Trying to get them to the site was hard enough, but trying to get my 200+ pound aunt back into the car was almost impossible.  She would get scared and scream, and then go limp like a toddler, screaming, “I’m going to FALLLLLL!!!”  Jeff and my brother-in-law worked at getting her in and pushing and I was in the car pulling.  We did it, but it was SO HARD.  And she was so upset, understandably.   We all felt awful for her and were sympathetic and loving, but good god.  PLUS, she couldn’t lift her feet while we pushed her chair…so I had to bend down and hold her feet up while someone else had to push/pull her around.  I really felt like we were on candid camera.  You can picture it can’t you?  It did bring some comic relief, but holy hannah…never again.

4.  We went up north to Brainerd this past week.  Sunday to Thursday.  We stayed in the hotel part of a resort called Cragun’s.  It was such a fun trip.  All three kids and my niece water-skied for the first time, and went tubing.  They, again, were fishes in the indoor pool on Monday and Tuesday when the weather didn’t cooperate, and at the beach and at the outdoor pool the last two days.  I played cards with my mom, and went swimming in the pools.  We ate out all meals except for breakfast, which ROCKED.  We took this trip to celebrate my parent’s upcoming 50th Wedding Anniversary.  FIFTY YEARS.  WOW.  Jeff fished and golfed, as did Sarah.  A fun time was had by all, but I am glad to be home and have some down time.  We only have one more road-trip, and it is just for the day.  My grandmother is turning 1oo in a week.  Can you believe THAT?  So we shall be partying with her!

5.  I am tired.  I WANT to do pictures, but I am going to bed instead.  Bad.  Blogger.

6.  What have you been up to?

8 Comments
  1. August 6, 2011 2:30 am

    Hey, I don’t have the heart to tackle our trip photos yet either. Soon? Maybe?

    Sorry about the little bit of trollishness popping up on your blog. I can’t fathom what makes people feel the need to point out things they don’t like about blog strangers (would these people go up to a stranger on the street and abruptly criticize or insult them?). For the record, I didn’t notice the goof, and even if I had, I’m well aware that:
    1) English has more exceptions than rules when it comes to spelling
    2) You are an incredibly literate person
    and
    3) This blog wasn’t named “Megsie’s Spelling Bee” last time I checked. :)

    • August 20, 2011 12:49 pm

      Megsie’s Spelling Bee would be an oxymoron for sure! Thanks for the kindness. I am especially sensitive about this because it IS a huge weakness of mine. When I told Jeff what happened he said, “That’s good. You shouldn’t be publishing things with mistakes in them.” And yes. He IS perfect.

  2. August 6, 2011 11:46 am

    Megsie’s Spelling Bee! Haaaa Bethany, you are awesome.

    Megsie – NO FEELING GUILTY OVER TYPOS & MISPELLINGS. People are total spazzes about grammar & spelling and some just live to point out mistakes. I read over my entries a hundred million times before I post them and I STILL find mistakes later, sometimes months later (and of course, obsessively correct the damn things even then).

    Maybe she MEANT to put the Hell in Helicopter, commenter person!

    I’m sorry to hear about your uncle, though. Hugs to you, and I’m super-glad you are back!

    • August 20, 2011 12:53 pm

      EXACTLY! I meant to put Hell in helicopter! Those parents are HELLISH, right? I KNEW that I wasn’t wrong. I was just being PLAYFUL. Thank you for pointing that out!

      Thanks for the sympathy. My Uncle was such a great guy. It just isn’t fair that his life was stolen right before our eyes. *sigh*

  3. August 10, 2011 7:16 pm

    Oh my word Megsie, please promise me that will be the VERY LAST TIME you ever apologize about a spelling mistake. You write beautifully and well. Your fingers, I imagine FLY as you type. An extra L in helicopter, hell, not something to ever even bat an eyelash at again.

    Sorry about your uncle…

    And the blackberries: OH MY. I want buckets full like those. Note to self: go blackberry picking with the boys.

    xoxo

    • August 20, 2011 1:00 pm

      I can’t really promise that. I do obsess about it a bit, just because I have to. Spelling is mean and we don’t really get along. We are learning to tolerate each other only because Spell-Check has my back. It just isn’t something that comes naturally to me. I have to work at it, so any mistake I make is a big deal and makes me feel bad. If people I like correct me it isn’t so bad, but when a stranger shows up all judge-y (or maybe not…I could just be sensitive…) then I kind of freak out.

      Thank you…

      The black raspberries were/are SO GOOD. We froze a bunch so we can have the muffins through-out the winter!

  4. August 13, 2011 2:24 am

    I had the same reaction about the spelling! DON’T WORRY. What a mean commenter with too much time on their hands to nitpick. Especially on what was such a thoughtful and well-written post!

    I’m sorry about your uncle and how hard it sounds like it was.

    You sound like you have such wonderful family – parents married 50 years, and a grandmother turning 100! Do tell us about her. What is her advice for living a good life at 100 years?

  5. August 20, 2011 1:04 pm

    Oh, thank you Willow. I DID work hard on that post, and maybe that is why it bothered me so much. Plus there was a definite connotation that I had no right to be writing about literacy if I couldn’t spell. (Right? Wasn’t there? Maybe I am just being a baby.)

    Thank you. It did suck.

    I DO have a wonderful family. My grandmother, I guess, needs to be a subject of a future post, dedicated to you!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

