Skip to content

Behind. Always.

September 3, 2011

The school year is underway, and I am already behind.  I know many of you are shocked by those words.  You are thinking, “Behind, already?”  Yes.  Always.

Having an extra four credits, and the configuration of how my classes fall have me scrambling to correct homework from dusk ’till dawn and vice-versa.  I have come to the conclusion that I may give too much homework.  Too much for ME that is.  I have been pretty good about a one-day turn-around.  I have only been late once.  I am excited to have a weekend to catch up, although I haven’t even started to try to catch up yet.  That is next on my “to do” list.  This post was number one.  It has been too long….again.

I am teaching three sections of the higher of the two reading classes that are below college level.  These are the students who will move to Freshmen Comp. after they pass my class, IF they pass my class.  I have one class that meets for two hours Monday and Wednesday, one class that meets for two hours Tuesday and Thursday and one class that meets for 50 minutes Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday.  I never know when I am going to see them again and say “See you tomorrow,” only to have them to say, “No, you won’t.”  I am sure I will get used to it, but I just tell them to correct me and move on.  I may never get it.

I have REALLY great classes this semester!  I know that I have begun the semester different than in the past.  With compassion and understanding, but with the bar set high.  I have been talking about professionalism and how college is preparation for those careers that they want.  I am their boss for now.  It has helped.  I only have one real behavior problem, and I have spoken to her directly.  We shall see if it turns around next week.  I also talked to the boy she distracts constantly.  I told him not to let “other students” distract him, and to move if they are.  He understood exactly who I meant, and assured me that he would.  I hope he does.  The people around this disruptive student seem to be getting sucked in and she is getting their attention away from what I am teaching.  I need to talk to the others as well, it is on my list for next week.  The class as a whole does great.  I think that this class will be able to ignore and look down upon her distraction.  When her phone rang (three times!  LOUD.  Bbbbrrrringgggg!!)  and I stopped the rest of the class was irritated as well.  I am encouraged by that, and dumbfounded at the blatant behaviors that this student is exhibiting in the first four days of class!

So, all in all, I am excited for this semester.  I have had such a positive response from so many students already.  My first assignment is always to email me.  This was harder this year since I had 75 students to reply to.  But I did it!  Many of them replied to my reply to answer my questions and to tell me that they are learning a lot already.  Oh, that is such great feedback.  Especially at the beginning of the semester when you have people adding and dropping and coming and going.  It feels so much like a three-ring-circus that I always question if I am even making any sense.

Tuesday is when my kids begin their school year.  I can’t wait.  The divided attention of worrying about them and trying to keep up with my job is exhausting.  When they are in school, I will be able to focus on my work so much more.  We went to back to school night on Thursday and it was so great to see everyone.  All three of my kids are VERY ready to go back to school.  In fact, today we will be going school clothes shopping.  They are excited to do that, and are watching me type, so we can go.  I guess that will have to move up on the list.  Then I can focus on my work.

I hope all of you are doing well.  My head is too full to even ask a good question, so just tell me something in the comments.  I have missed you!!  I haven’t even read any blogs for two weeks, so I am behind on that as well.  Maybe this weekend I will catch up on everything!!

xo

6 Comments
  1. September 4, 2011 10:59 am

    I know what you mean about having divided attention because your kids aren’t back in school yet. I hated that couple of weeks where my kids were still on vacation and I was back at work. But WOW you guys go back to school late in the year! My kids started mid-August and end mid-June. When do yours get out for summer break?

    Your classes sound so fascinating :)

    • September 18, 2011 9:35 am

      My kids usually get out of school the first or second week of June. Usually around the 9th-ish. I don’t know what exact day it is this year…maybe the 7th? We always start the Tuesday after Labor Day. Labor Day weekend being the last weekend of the summer, and the last weekend of the State Fair. (Which we MISSED this year.) I really wish my college was on the same schedule. It would make my life (and many other professor’s, and student’s lives) so much easier. I suppose they don’t ask lowly adjunct professors how to plan their schedules for a reason…like maybe summer school… who knows.

  2. September 9, 2011 7:28 pm

    Just saying hello because I hardly ever do, though I always read! And sending love!

    • September 18, 2011 9:36 am

      Love right back at you Christina! Thanks for saying hi in the midst of your very own crazy exciting schedule…xo

  3. September 12, 2011 3:17 am

    Don’t let blogging be a source of stress! I think I can speak for all of your “regulars” when I say that we understand the busyness thing. Quite well. :) I hope your transitions are still going well!

    • September 18, 2011 9:40 am

      Ah, Bethany, I have been LOVING your posts. I keep cheating and sneaking to read them. Thanks for the permission to be a slacker, as if I needed THAT, I am quite a good slacker already. The transition is slowly becoming routine, but I am still freaking out daily. I am wondering if that will be a natural state all semester? Could be…

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

