Skip to content

For the LOVE of Autumn

October 8, 2011

Guess what happened?!

It turned into OCTOBER.

I can’t believe how fast time flies when you have no time to watch it stroll on by.  The leaves are turning, and unfortunately are not as brilliant as they were last year.  It has been windy as all get out and so there has been raking here at our house.  Mostly to get a pile to jump into, but I think my husband has thoughts of disposal.  The good news is that I have purchased the Halloween costumes already so I don’t have to run frantically from store to store the week before the big day.

Since I have no great things to embark on you today,  I will give you an entry from my journal that I pulled out on Wednesday night.  Gosh, it felt good to write again!  Enjoy…

Wednesday October 5, 2011

I love the light in the Fall.  The way the still green trees reflect its radiance.

Though, I love even more how the tree leaves that have turned and even have fallen–absorb the light and make everything look soft and muted.

The colors are bold; almost loud, but the light makes them calm–so they don’t shout, but whisper, in a commanding essence.

The air can caress you in the fall; softly bringing goosebumps upon your shoulders.  It makes you bring a sweater everywhere you go.

But, at high noon the sun showing off its power can warm your face and make you want to lie down and soak up its long, strong rays.

It seems like an emergency, because just last week you had to scrape the windows of your car before work–so now in the warmth, with your sweater in the bottom of your bag, it feels necessary to consume as much of the warm sunshine as possible.

And then, at dusk, despite your love of flip-flops, you are relieved to feel the cool caress of Autumn who was patiently waiting for sunset to kiss your cheek again.

These days, where dusk comes ever earlier, are intoxicating–almost like the feeling of falling in love.

6 Comments
  1. October 8, 2011 4:00 pm

    That was lovely. I was just thinking about you and missing you and SO glad to see an update! XOXO! I know what you mean about the time just FLYING by…whoosh!

    • November 2, 2011 3:52 pm

      Shhh. I don’t want time to fly…TOO MUCH TO DO!! I have been missing you too!

  2. October 10, 2011 8:27 am

    Ahhhhh…. fall. You captured it beautifully. I wish it could last longer than it does.

    • November 2, 2011 3:52 pm

      Thank you Barb, I think that warmth is gone now, until next year. :(

  3. October 19, 2011 1:42 pm

    Oh Meg, I love how you describe autumn! You’re such a vivid writer! And that leaf pile looks like so much fun…

  4. November 2, 2011 3:53 pm

    See? You should move to Minnesota! We could be neighbors. I love other people’s babies! :)

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

