Skip to content

Life is just a fantasy…

November 4, 2011

The dog is scratching on the sliding glass door.  The pizza is in the oven.

Jeff and Nicholas are on a double date with one of Nicholas’s hockey friends and his dad.  They are on their way to the Gopher Hockey Game.

The girls are down in the basement playing loudly.

I am sitting in the dark with the light of the computer reflecting off my cheeks.

My brain is full.  I have so much to do this weekend, yet I have no motivation to start.

I am excited that I have scored two courses for next semester, and I am planning on doing some personal research as well, but this semester seems like it is flying by so fast…I can’t keep up.

Sometimes, I like to create the perfect life in my mind.  Do you ever do that?  Do you ever think about what it would look like?  I think the only difference from that wish to reality is that time would not be a factor, and possibly I would not need sleep.  Or, is that the same?  I suppose if time was as slow or as long or whatever as I would like it, I could sleep too.  So, let me revise:  Time and unlimited energy.  There.  Perfect.  Oh, and the $$$ to do stuff I want to do, since we are living in fantasy.  That would do it, don’t you think?  Then I could do all the things that go undone, and still have time for writing and reading, playing and working, knitting and crocheting, visiting with friends and working on my house, and maybe even being more creative.

I like to build the perfect house in my mind too.  This is a complete fantasy, because if such a house existed it would probably be structurally unsound, and impossible to build.  Plus, I don’t like HUGE houses where I can’t hear what my kids are doing, but there seems to be a room for every whim in my fantasy.  I can take whole car rides and plan away…where the pool would be, what kind of pool house it would have to accompany it.  Where the orchard would be in our yard…how to plant the raspberries so you could reach all of them without losing and arm to the prickles.  How the attic would look…. Oh, it is such a great escape.  I know that I should write down some parts of the fantasy that are not so outlandish…believe me there are parts that are outlandish…self cleaning KITCHENS, for example.  But I should write down the rational ones.  Maybe some pieces could come together to make my life a little more of my ideal.

What are your fantasies?  (I am only interested in the non-dirty variety here…so get your minds out of the gutter.)  I want to hear what your perfect lives would look like.

2 Comments
  1. November 5, 2011 9:25 am

    I would have a maid. And an au pair. And a personal massage therapist.

    • November 5, 2011 4:15 pm

      Oh, yes. I would like all three of those as well! The maid, I think would have to be Alice from The Brady Bunch. I asked for her for Christmas the year Sarah joined our family. So far, that item has not been gifted.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

