Skip to content

THIS is today’s post

November 7, 2011

Okay.  I am kind of ticked off that I didn’t get my post up in time to be for yesterday.  It was before I went to bed, so it should count as Sunday’s post!!  Just because I actually went to bed at 2:30 AM, well, that is a moot point.  The great part is that I was completely up to date with student work and with grades.  I had a few blissful hours where I knew I didn’t owe anyone anything.  I had time to actually look at my lesson plans that were wilting from lack of attention.  Only for the morning, but hey it is better than nothing.  I will be giving the unit test tomorrow and Wednesday, which is good because I barely got through my three straight hours of teaching without coughing out a lung.  I am IRKED that I have another cold.  I just got over one!  It is so unfair.

I already miss daylight savings time.  It gets dark so early now, which is just depressing.  The moon is bright and big right now so that is a plus, I don’t know if it is waxing or waning.  At least there is some light in the sky.  It just makes me want to go to bed.  Now when we are running hither and yon it will be in the dark.  Sarah auditioned for a part in the high school play last week and got a part.  Our busy schedule just got bumped up to light speed, but she is over that big old moon out there.  It is a wonderful opportunity for her as well, and I think she will love it.  At least I hope so.  The production is It’s a Wonderful Life.  We need to watch the movie so she can see what she is going to be immersed in for the next month.  I am just amazed at all the things my kids have access to that wasn’t even on the radar when I was a kid.  It is so hard to limit them.  My rationalization is that it is only one month of CRAZY.  We can do anything for a month, right?  Sarah is in the school play for her school too, and that production will be on Dec. 20.  So she has practice for two different plays, which equals out to play practice Monday-Thursday.  Then on Friday she has some Math Club thing.    Tuesdays she goes to play practice after school, I drive the twins to choir, then drive to school to get Sarah, then drive back to choir to drop her off.  And then, of course, there is dance on Saturday mornings for the girls and Hockey on Saturday and Sunday and usually once during the week for Nicholas.  I haven’t even mentioned Scouts which all of my kids are involved in….GEEZ.  I don’t know how I have time to work!  Thank goodness the play business is short term.  The rest is do-able.

I had a pretty good day today.  We went over the prologue for The Book Thief in class.  They were supposed to tell me who the narrator is for the book.  It was so difficult for them.  I am not sure how they are going to do on this test.  It is making me nervous.  How are they going to get through English Comp. if they can’t make inferences?  And, I can model until the cows come home, if they don’t have the background knowledge, they aren’t going to get it.  It is fairly depressing.  We’ll see how they do on the test.

I can’t believe we haven’t had one snowflake fall here yet.  Not that I am complaining.  I am enjoying the mild weather.  I just hope we don’t have to pay for it later.

I am just babbling, so I think I will end my blah, blah, blah, blah.

6 Comments
  1. November 7, 2011 8:31 pm

    Congrats to Sarah! That is so exciting for her. You schedule makes me very very tired.

    • November 11, 2011 12:06 am

      Um. Not as tired as it makes ME. xo

  2. November 8, 2011 2:28 pm

    How fun for Sarah! They don’t seem to have anything like that at the schools here in Sweden, where they put on productions of actual plays (they have made up their own, sort of, in elementary school)….maybe as they get older.

    You sound pretty stressed right now…I hope things stay on an even keel and that the scenarios turn out to be best-case for your students instead of worst! HUGS!

    • November 11, 2011 12:07 am

      I am stressed, but I’m okay. Everything always works out in the end. No need to worry. BUT…I will take the hugs! I never tire of those. xo

  3. November 12, 2011 6:21 pm

    I am reading The Book Thief right now. Wish I could be in your class! :-)

    • November 19, 2011 2:15 pm

      Oh, my gosh!! I love The Book Thief! I am so jealous that you are reading it for the first time right now. Just a warning, take a break from reading after you finish. No other book will seem good, even if it is.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

