Skip to content

Brrrrrrr

December 5, 2013

Well.  It is official.  Winter is here.  There is no doubt about it anymore.  We have all been going on our merry way, believing that this autumn has been so mild…except for those couple of snowfalls.  But they melted!  There wasn’t that much snow anyway!  I never even got my boots out.

Times have changed.  Yesterday we had our first blizzard of the season.  Dance was canceled.  The roads were slippery and visibility was not good.  There were cars in the ditch all over the place.  I shoveled.  Jeff shoveled.  The ice rink is on its way to being an actual sheet of ice.

Winter is here.

Christmas is coming.

Oh, I am SO not ready!

*****

Update about Sarah:

She LOVED skiing.  “It was awesome!” That was the response I got upon picking her up on Tuesday.  Now, I am “encouraging” her to try out for the musical.  She is nervous.  She doesn’t want to because she doesn’t know anyone.  This is the same child who has been in TWO high school plays.  With High Schoolers.  At the High School.  Where she didn’t know anyone.

She is going to ask her friend to teach her the song that they have to sing, and she is also going to ask her choir director to help her.  She has decided that next Thursday is when she will audition.  I know she will do great.  At least I hope that she can over-come this need to hide from everyone.  She is so worried about how others are perceiving her.  She doesn’t want to be noticed at all.  I told her not to let “them” (whoever she is nervous about) let them keep her from being herself.  This is HER THING.  (And she knows it!)  So.  I really hope it goes well.  I hope she fits in and finds her people.  Her tribe.  She needs one!

2 Comments
  1. December 7, 2013 7:28 am

    Yay! I knew it, when I read the last post first. See? You are doing a GREAT job. Kudos to Sarah for going through with it, and kudos to you for being SUPER MOM.

    • December 8, 2013 9:00 am

      I think it is hard because I can remember how 6th grade goes. And? I was not as astute as Sarah, I walked around oblivious half the time.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

