Skip to content

New Year’s Eve: 2013 in Review

December 31, 2013

When I think back through the year, I am just amazed.  Things change so subtly, and yet those changes can be life altering.  And as it happens, often I think about how big of a change the event might be, but it takes time and perspective to see just how profound those changes are.

January 2013.   I was waffling between applying for a job, and not applying.  And I chose to apply.  I got the job.  Because of this job prospect, I chose to begin to take classes for a Post-Secondary Reading and Learning Certificate through California State University at Fullerton.  Both of these decisions are inter-related.  Without the decision to go for the job, I wouldn’t have taken the first two classes.  Both of these events have altered the way I see my career, and how I view my job with students.  I am still struggling to figure out how to be a better teacher, I don’t think that will ever end, but now I have tools and research to help me make my decisions and to change my practice for the better.

Winter 2013.  We began to prepare for middle school.  We visited the school, and went to orientation.  This was the first step away from the security of elementary school for Sarah.

January 2013.  My dad’s diagnosis of dementia was shared with us.

March 2013.  Jeff’s dad falls, breaks a hip.  This becomes a hands on education about long term care insurance, aging parents, and caring for Alzheimer’s patients.

March, April, May 2013.  Jeff’s mom moves in.  Education consumes us. End of life decisions are discussed.  Facing institutionalization of a close loved one is awful.  And that is not really a strong enough word.

April, 2013.  Trip to California without Jeff.  Unknowingly, our last trip as we know it.

April, 2013.  Interview for BIG JOB.  Yikes!

April 2013.  My dad decides not to drive anymore.

May, 2013.  A new JOB!  Woot!

May 2013.  Jeff’s mom moves into a nursing home.  Begins accelerated decline.

June 2013.  Sarah “Graduates” from Elementary School.

June 2013.  Apparently, my dad only decided not to drive in CALIFORNIA.  Doctor then forbids him to drive in MINNESOTA as well.  This is not taken well.

June 2013.  First time leading an inservice for teachers.  Hoping to do more of this in the future.

Summer 2013.  Baseball.  Softball. Golf.  Hockey.  You know, the usual.

Summer 2013. Dance–Sarah invited to take the “pointe” class and loves it.

Summer 2013.  Revamping course (again).

July 2013.  Fourth of July.  Last Family celebration where Jeff’s mom is present.

July 2013.  Blogged EVERY DAY!  WOOT!

August 2013.  Sarah goes to “Cougar Camp” and begins her middle school adventure.

August 2013.  NEW OFFICE!  (Still not all the way moved in, and it is New Year’s Eve.)

Fall 2013.  My dad’s decline accelerates.  Assisted Living apartment is confirmed.

November 2013.  Blogged ALMOST every day.  THIS was a huge ACCOMPLISHMENT!

December 2013.  Katie steals the show as the Magic Mirror in the school play:  Rockin’ story of Snow White.

December 2013.  Christmas happens.  Everything gets done.  It is a Christmas Miracle.

December 2013.  So busy I get sick (not unusual).  Still recovering.  Feel better today.

These were the  big things of the year.  There were many small things as well.  There were so many things to be thankful for this year.  I am blessed beyond measure with family and friends and usefulness.  I hope that 2014 delivers with good things as well.  But really, I am the one in charge of that, am I not?

Happy New Year Everyone!

2 Comments
  1. January 1, 2014 11:12 am

    Happy New Year to you and yours, Megsie. What a tough year you’ve made it through. Though there were great things in it too, I know it was not easy and you have handled it with grace under massive pressure (at least that’s how it seems from here!). Hugs!! XO

    • January 2, 2014 8:03 am

      I am not sure if “grace” is what it is, but we are making it. I think that may be exactly what it is now that I think about it. And, there is no choice but to go on, right? I don’t think it will get easier, not with dementia at least. The good thing is that there is a lot of JOY in between the hard times. I tend not to focus on those hard times in real life, because then it is harder. But, here I want to acknowledge the events, and the underlying significance of those events. Thank you again, you are such a huge support for me. Sending you BIG love for the new year and always! xoxox

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

