Skip to content

Baby, It’s Cold Outside

January 6, 2014

I am still in bed, but even sitting up to type my neck and back are feeling the chill.  The next three days are going to be brutal temperature-wise.  It really started yesterday.  When we went to Nicholas’ hockey game in the morning it was -10, but it “warmed up” to -1 by the time we got out of there.  Last night we went to my niece’s birthday dinner and it was -18 when we got out of there.  I woke up to this:

IMG_0758

The windchill is -47.  This is all Farenheit, by the way.  So, um, it is a little chilly.  The Governor canceled school for today for the entire state.  Everything else seems to be canceled too…choir, dance…but not hockey!  We were supposed to have OUTDOOR practice today, but they switched it to INDOOR practice.  How sweet of them.

In other news, the tree is down and in its box.  The decorations are packed away as well.  I just have to go arrange my back room to make sure everything fits the way it should, and then Christmas is officially over.  Sigh.  Today is the day to do that and to work on my syllabus.  I also have to register for my LAST class for my Post-Secondary Reading and Learning Certificate.  I am excited about that!

My classes are in limbo still, so I am hoping my night class gets cancelled so I can teach a different night class.  I am scheduled to work on Wednesday nights, but we have MANY kid activities on Wednesday nights.  I need to be home to be the taxi!  Tuesdays would lessen the load there.  I also hope that they take my advice and just change one of my classes from an every-day class to a block class (meets 2 days a week instead of 4, for two hours).  I have a waiting list for my other block class and I think that if they change my every-day class they will move to that class.  This whole thing gives me a stomach ache.

So, that is what is on my mind.  What is on yours?

4 Comments
  1. January 6, 2014 9:45 am

    Dang, that’s cold. I was hoping for some snow this year, but I really don’t want it to get that cold! Stay warm!! I am still working on putting away Christmas. It’s taking 3 full days so far, and we will keep the Advent lights up until next weekend…no one wants to put the lights away.

    • January 8, 2014 12:11 pm

      It is always sad to see the lights go. They are my favorite part too! I love mild temps with a bit of snow. It is warmer today, finally, but that only means that it is -2 for the high, the low being -13. The kids went back to school and everything! Woo Hoo!

  2. January 7, 2014 1:34 pm

    WOW. I have never experienced that extreme of cold. We put our Christmas away this last weekend, except for some lights; they are so cheery lighting up the early dark evenings I can’t take them down yet. Congrats on the last class for your program, that’s awesome!!!!

  3. January 8, 2014 12:14 pm

    I am really excited to be done with the classes, but in the same breath I have loved taking them. I have learned so much and I want to continue that. BUT, the TIME, UGH. It is so hard to balance.

    I am so happy to see you, I have missed you so much! I think you told me that you got a part-time job? How is that going? I would love to hear all about it!

    Happy New Year, Willow! xoxoxoxo

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

