Skip to content

The Power of Story

January 8, 2014

I just watched this:

My favorite quote is:

“There is a word, an Igbo word, that I think about whenever I think about the power structures of the world, and it is “nkali.” It’s a noun that loosely translates to “to be greater than another.” Like our economic and political worlds, stories too are defined by the principle of nkali. How they are told, who tells them, when they’re told, how many stories are told, are really dependent on power.”

Wow.  What do you think?

I think I want my students to watch this.  Maybe they can tell me an instance of how a single story has affected them.  Has a single story affected you?

4 Comments
  1. January 8, 2014 3:17 pm

    Are there any stories that HAVEN’T affected me? Doubtful.

  2. January 18, 2014 11:24 pm

    Wow. Thank you so much for sharing this. The quote that jumped out at me as I listened was, “the problem with stereotypes is not that they’re untrue, but that they’re incomplete”. There is so much in here that inspires. What an articulate, thoughtful woman! I am going to share this on twitter.

    There’s a whole other conversation this makes me think about re how the stories we have from our families, the stories the world tells about “people like me” shape our inner stories we tell ourselves. And how reading is a way of escaping that. At least for me it has always been.

    Again thank you for sharing this, and I hope to continue the conversation with you about the power and meaning of storytelling.

  3. January 21, 2014 8:34 am

    Megsie, Thank you for that link. Later today (when I have a bit more time) I will send you my story of a single story. It is a poem I wrote called, “How I Survived the War in Croatia”.

  4. February 7, 2014 2:19 pm

    I loved this talk, so very much. It’s so fascinating to think of the power stories have to change people’s perceptions. More than that, it’s empowering. Thanks for sharing this!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

