Skip to content

And this is Christmas….

December 24, 2009

Yesterday, we had our family Christmas Celebration.  Just the five of us.  A couple of years ago, I made the decision to begin our own celebration on December 23.  Christmas Eve is always dedicated to my side of the family, Christmas morning to Santa, and Christmas day to Jeff’s side of the family.  Our own little family got lost in the shuffle.  It was the best decision I have ever made.

I make our family’s traditional ham and scalloped potatoes for dinner.  It is what my mom made when I was little, and I looked forward to it every year.  She does a tenderloin now, and the kids eat kid food…and we don’t really have a formal dinner anymore.  So, we do one here with candles and eating at the dining room table–the works.  This year I made fresh asparagus and tried popovers as well.  The popovers didn’t pop, but they still tasted good.  I am going to try again soon.  I think the opening of the oven had something to do with it, but I had to take the potatoes out or they would have burned.  I guess I just need another oven…HA!

After dinner, we do all of the dishes, and the kids are so helpful.  They began before Jeff and I had gotten up from the table!  And, you know what they say, “many hands make light work”  and in this case they were right.  Many times I use the “too many cooks spoil the broth” saying but, the dishes were done perfectly.  (They still left all of the big pans for me…but still.)

After dishes, we open presents.  We pass out, and take turns (because there are not mountains of presents) and it is so fun!  The kids are really so appreciative and polite and excited.  Then…we play (or they play and we undo the twisty-ties for them) underneath the Christmas Tree with all of the twinkling lights.  It is relaxing and joyful and perfect.

This morning the kids are still in their brand new jammies playing with their new toys, and reading their new books.  Our neighbor just called and will be coming by soon, so we will have to clean up the mess from last night.  And, I need to clean out my car so we can fit the kids and the presents into the car tonight after our celebration with my parents.  I am gearing up for the chaos that will come once we are at my parents.  I hope it goes smoothly, and is not too crazy.  I sort of dread going because of all of the over-stimulation and the massive amounts of presents, but hopefully it will all be fun.

Another thing:  SANTA COMES TONIGHT!  I love Santa!

May your celebrations be joyful and peaceful, and may the magic of Christmas touch each of you~  I hope you all have a very Merry Christmas.

xo,

Meg

4 Comments
  1. December 24, 2009 4:21 pm

    That’s a lovely way to stretch out the magic and really make it special. We do the Swedish Christmas on Christmas Eve with Anders’ parents and our American-style version on Christmas Day (Santa & stockings). Dec 23 is Anders’ mom’s birthday so that’s off-limits.

    Much merry wonderfulness to you!

    • December 26, 2009 3:27 pm

      Hope the birthday celebration was fun, as well as both of your Christmas celebrations :) We had good times all around! Very Merry! Today is a NAP day. I bet you are just getting ready for the next party–yay!

  2. December 26, 2009 3:33 pm

    Such cute kiddos!

    • December 26, 2009 5:32 pm

      Thanks Tricia~ I think they are pretty cute too, MOST of the time…

Comments are closed.

