Skip to content

The New Year Awaits

December 31, 2009

There is a spark in the air.  Anticipation drips from every surface.  We are on the edge of a new beginning, and brand new possibilities.  Does your heart quicken, like mine does, when you think about all those new opportunities?

2009 was a great year for me.  I got my Master’s Degree in Education focusing on Emergent Literacy.  I joined Facebook.  My babies started Kindergarten.  I began to be a faithful “commenter” on the blogs that I loved.  I turned 40 and started this here blog.  But 2010…it is RIGHT THERE.  Looming large on the horizon.  Giving me a chance to transform.

And that is what life is all about, isn’t it?  Becoming who you are meant to be.  It is a maze and a puzzle to figure out which twists and turns will bring you into yourself.  What will help you to be your best self?  By now, you all probably know that I have no idea how to answer that question.  But, many people out there have offered pieces of the map that navigates through living the best life that can be mustered.

Liz in all her infinite wisdom reminds me not to over-look what is important in life.   She lives her life to the fullest and is a true inspiration for me to do the same–with gusto.  My new friend, Tricia, has transformed her life into a healthy, active place.  She is a model of choosing to be better and she helps many, many people make the same choice easier.  Sam–she shows her heart which over flows and touches my heart every time I read her words.  She is a shining example of how to be a better person, and I am striving to be just that.  Christina has the true talent of magnifying those small moments and illuminating how big those moments really are, even when they are so easy to over-look.  I have looked at my small life more than once after reading her words and realized how HUGE it really is.  Another new friend, Pixie has given me pause to reflect on how fear and expectations play a role in how my life is lived.  I am still trying to wrap my head around how this affects my own personal existence.  Along with being the perfect model of following your bliss, Elizabeth is helping me to look at the risks that I have taken (and avoided) in my life.  She, of course, is challenging me to take more risks…yikes!  Bethany has begun to be a social butterfly.  I used to flutter around when I was much younger, but apathy has gotten the better of me.  She is helping me to realize that I don’t have to be perfect in order to invite people to dinner.  She is also letting me know that I am fine just the way I am.  Lastly, my (in the flesh) friend Carly is a perfect example of keeping the fun at the forefront.  She has begun a whole new life this year, and is managing it better than I ever would.  Not to mention her humor which makes me laugh out loud at my computer more often than not.  And when we actually go out for drinks, it is even better.

I read many more blogs and learn from each of them, but these are the people who are touching my heart.  I have so much gratitude that I have joined this wacky community of wonderful people.  Thank you  for making me a better person.  And 2010, watch out!  I am armed by the best of them!

*****

Tonight, Jeff and I will go out for an early dinner to a fancy restaurant.  We will be home by 8:00, and will watch all of the celebrations on TV.  Or, we may play Lego Star Wars.  I will be searching for a glimpse of the blue moon, once darkness falls.  There is something significant about having a blue moon on New Year’s Eve.  With all of our snow, I am sure it will be a magnificent sight, sparkling vast expanses of white, glowing in the moonlight.  I wish I had a better camera, one that took pictures in the dark that were not blurry and pathetic.  Hopefully, I can capture the moon with words instead.

My wish for all of you is for a happy and prosperous 2010!  Thank you all for your words and your inspiration, I truly take them to heart.

xoxo

Meg

10 Comments
  1. December 31, 2009 11:21 pm

    Happy New Year!!!! I am blushing at the mention of my name in my post. : ) Something tells me that this is going to be an amazing year for you. I love your blog and always look forward to the next post.

    I think we are due for a night out soon!

    • January 3, 2010 1:35 pm

      I am hoping that this year–heck this decade is amazing for both of us! xo

  2. January 1, 2010 5:26 am

    Happy new year! I think my blog friends are some of the greatest people on the planet and I’m delighted (DELIGHTED, I tell you) that you are one of them. Happy New Year, Megsie!! XO

    • January 3, 2010 1:36 pm

      Well, Liz I hope you know that I feel the same way about YOU! xo

  3. January 1, 2010 11:53 pm

    Happy New Year, Megsie! You have accomplished a lot this year – and I am so glad you “came out” as a commenter and as a blogger. Your comments always make my day and the support means so much, really, even to this veteran blogger. I am really loving getting to know you and see pictures of your lovely kiddos, too. One of the best gifts of blogging is that I am able to look through all these incredibly interesting lenses of other people’s lives… I hope you and your honey had a fabulous date with swirly snow and sweet smooches, looking forward to an amazing year!

    P.S. What’s Emergent Literacy?

    • January 3, 2010 1:42 pm

      I am very glad that I started commenting too…look at where it has lead! Who knew? Our date on New Year’s Eve was wonderful, as it always is, we have been going to dinner at the same place since we were dating. Champagne and chocolate torte for dessert…yum. Emergent Literacy…I will explain in a post or maybe an email later :)

  4. January 2, 2010 12:49 pm

    Thank you so much for the sweet words. :) And thanks for the heads up on some other wonderful blogs, I look forward to reading them.

    Happy New Year Meg!

    • January 3, 2010 1:44 pm

      Oh, yes Tricia do read these amazing women’s words. I am so glad you stopped by so I could read your amazing words too. I will be back on the wagon this coming week!

  5. January 12, 2010 3:42 am

    Thank you, sweet lady! It’s been an honor to get to know you. :)

    • January 12, 2010 10:40 am

      Right back at’cha! Can’t wait for YOUR next post…what have you got cooking over there in Italy?

Comments are closed.

