Skip to content

Welcome to a New Decade

January 4, 2010

Photo taken by Sarah

I have been thinking a lot about this new year, and this new decade.  I am filled with anticipation and excitement.  And today is Monday.  Many people don’t like Mondays very much because, to them, it means the end of the weekend.  I love Mondays.  Monday is the day to start things–a day to get off on the right foot.  So the first Monday of the new year is BIG.

I have been surfing around collecting thoughts from all of you (at least those of you that I know about) with regards to the new year.  I love all of the resolutions, all of the guiding words, all of the quotes that I have read.  Two quotes have framed my thinking when I think of my own resolutions for this brand-spankin’-new year.  Sam stole this one from here and it is so powerful:

“We spend January 1 walking through our lives, room by room, drawing up a list of work to be done, cracks to be patched.  Maybe this year to balance the list we ought to walk through the rooms of our lives…not looking for flaws, but for potential.”  ~Ellen Goodman

Elizabeth shared this one, which is electrifying, yet scares me to death:

“Say yes to whatever it is.  Because if you say yes to it and then you get in the middle of it, and you say “Uh-oh, this isn’t really turning out the way I wanted it to,” then out of that is born another desire.  And as you say yes to that, then it turns out.  And you say, “Well, it’s still not quite right.”  So you have another desire… Until eventually you get it exactly right.  You cannot get it wrong.  No creation is ever complete.  Just do it.  ~Abraham

These wonderful quotes have been transcribed into my writer’s notebook and have been read over and over.  I have been wandering through the rooms in my life and I have been trying to look through a different lens.  The lens of potential instead of demolition and rebuilding.  As I was reflecting on how to transform my life into the life I want to live, I went back to all of the old self talk.  The “I need to…I should….”  My shoulders felt heavier and heavier.  I looked at all of the things that I dislike about myself and became discouraged before I could even begin.  But potential.  That changes things.  And desire, what a delicious thought.  So, as I wandered around, I decided to look at the things I do well.  How can I shine those things up?

Eventually it comes down to this:  the resolutions would have probably been the same even if I wasn’t actively looking for potential and desires.  However, in the bright light of potential, it doesn’t feel heavy.  I am still filled with anticipation.  I have done little things around the house to begin my 2010 journey, but I have not made a list of things to do yet.  I am trying to make this feeling last.  This feeling that I can be whoever I want to be, and do whatever I want to do.    I can do it!  So, here they are, my resolutions for 2010:

  1. Climb back on the wagon of health.  Start with eating better, then add in exercise.  Join my friends at Weight Watchers (again) so I have the support I need.  I will be going back this week.
  2. Organize, purge and decorate.  My house is the place that I love to be most of all.  I want to be able to look around and be proud of what I see.  This is always a struggle for me.  I am really trying to see the potential here, and so far so good on that front.
  3. Write more.  Mostly in my own little writer’s notebook.  Since I have started to blog, I have let that part go, and it is a different writing than should go on here.  And, as for this blog, I am going to try to reply to all comments in the comment section.  I love that Liz does this and I am always a little giddy when I go back to see what she says.
  4. Read more.  Specifically, read the news paper daily.  I gave this up a while ago, and it freed up so much time that I loved it.  But now I don’t know what the heck is going on in the world.  I am also going to keep track of the books that I read.  I haven’t read one yet this year, but I will let you know when I do.
  5. Enjoy my kids more.  They are growing up so fast.  I want to drink them in while I still can.
  6. Find a job that I love.  HOW THE HECK AM I GOING TO DO THAT?  I don’t know.  I see a lot of desires, and I have a lot of potential…but….Aaaaahhhhhhh!
  7. Invite friends to dinner.  This is last year’s resolution.  It goes along with #2.  I did better last year, but there is still a lot of room for improvement.  Once a month.  Have someone over.  How hard can it be?  (You would be surprised.)

This is absolutely horrifying to publish and have people actually READ and KNOW what my resolutions are….a risk, right?  Taking a risk is good.  It will be even better when I can update how well I am doing.  So, Happy Monday!  Welcome 2010, Cheers!

Photo taken by Sarah

8 Comments
  1. January 5, 2010 10:54 am

    Aaah! Is it a carrot snowdragon!? I lOVE it! Excellent resolutions. I’m with you on #1, though it’s hard hard hard. I’m going on Thursday and DREADING it (WW, that is). Mile-long to-do list and have been up doing all day and still don’t feel like I have ANYTHING done. Sigh.

    • January 7, 2010 9:15 am

      Hey, I have felt that “nothing done” feeling…but you are on VACATION, remember? Take a nap. Read. Go shopping. You deserve it! And, yes it is a snow dragon. Jeff and Sarah made both the snowman and the dragon on Christmas Day, or was it Christmas Eve? I think it was Christmas Day. So fun! I was cooking, or I would have been out there with them, making a fort. It was perfect snow for building that day. I took the plunge yesterday at WW. Now there is a Chocolate Santa taunting me. I am winning the stand off, though.

  2. January 5, 2010 1:43 pm

    I love your snow creations! The last one is too funny.

    Your resolutions are really great. They are varied enough that if you fall off the wagon on one, you can focus your energy on another…I’m always the opposite for your first resolution. I’m all “EXERCISE!” and then fail on the eating healthy.

    I also want to focus energy on my house…especially Thomas’ room.

    Keeping track of the books you read is AWESOME. It makes me feel so accomplished.

    Don’t be ashamed to have shared your resolutions! If anything, we can keep you honest, in a friendly, loving sort of way.

    • January 7, 2010 9:20 am

      See, I have done the whole “EXERCISE” thing, and then I just eat more. I never lose any weight that way. So, now that I am good and out of shape, I begin again. I am actually really excited about keeping track of the books I read. I think I may want to read more because of it. I go in spurts. Knitting, writing, reading, watching bad TV…. I want to have a book going all the time, but I have a hard time putting books down, so then all I do until the book ends is read. Not very productive. Thanks for the vote of confidence in my Resolutions. So far, so good. Although if you were here you might disagree. My house is in SHAMBLES. It always gets worse before it gets better though.

  3. January 5, 2010 7:17 pm

    Lovely list of goals, and putting them out there will help you stay accountable.

    Thanks for the comment on my anniversary post. Your support means a lot to me.

    • January 7, 2010 9:22 am

      Oh, Tricia~ You are truly an inspiration. I am so glad I am getting to know you and your journey :)

  4. January 12, 2010 3:48 am

    A couple of years ago, I read something… maybe on Andrea Scher’s Superhero blog? about rewriting resolutions so they lift us up rather than drag us down. I remember one of her examples was instead of saying “I resolve to cut back on coffee,” saying “I want to explore lots of delicious options of tea this year.” Or something like that. :) Anyway, that’s exactly what I’ve done since then — made my little “non-resolutions” into positive things I can get excited about, like finding new ways to prepare vegetables so I like them and making deep, peaceful sleep a priority and finding a creative way to put aside money for the girls’ college educations (instead of “Eat better,” “Go to bed earlier,” and “Get out of debt already”). Isn’t it great having personal goals for the new year that actually make you feel excited to accomplish?

    • January 12, 2010 10:51 am

      Yes! That is totally it, isn’t it? We are (or I should say I am,) always framing things in our lives in the negative, and that just helps that inner critic gain power. And, for me, that gives me reason to give up. I can’t do it anyway. I will never get to the top of the mountain of things to be done. Might as well go to bed, or watch tv, or eat a bag of chips…do we have any dip? So far this year I have limited my “to do” list to THREE things per day. If I don’t get something done, it goes on “tomorrow” but if I do, I might be able to do FOUR things. Then I feel like an over-achiever instead of a loser who didn’t get the 25 things done on the list. It is a total mind game, but it seems to be working! This week is really crazy, so my “to do” is on hold and my “CRAP, I need to get this done NOW” is at the forefront. I need to read my book club book, so that is where I am off to now…

Comments are closed.

