Skip to content

Where the Wild Play

January 8, 2010

There has been an old companion who has resurfaced this year.   We haven’t seen him around in about six years.  He was ever-present before that, however.  When Jeff and I first began dating (24 years ago TODAY) he was always around.  He may be the reason that Jeff peaked my interest all of those years ago.  He stayed with us throughout college as well.  We have some really good memories.  After college, he was a bit elusive.  Jeff managed to keep in contact with him much better than I did.  I kind of disengaged.  When Sarah was born, Jeff was still very involved with him, but I only heard about him.  Once I was pregnant with Katie and Nicholas, I told Jeff that he could not spend so much time with him.  I needed the back up.  But now, well, NICHOLAS has fallen in love with him too.  Jeff and Nicholas spend their weekends with him now.  The girls and I make our appearances, but really it is a boy bonding time.  Anyone who knows me, would have figured out who this mystery companion is:  hockey.  In Minnesota, hockey is like religion.  Jeff started playing late, when he was seven.  Once I knew him, I never missed a game.  This is Nicholas’s first year playing hockey. He is on the Rookie Mites Royal team, and Jeff is the head coach.

Tonight their team got to practice on the Xcel Energy Arena’s ice.  It is where Minnesota’s Pro-Hockey team plays:  The Minnesota Wild.  It was such a fun event.  Our team had to purchase 40 tickets and for that we got an hour of ice time.  Parents could take pictures, and we had the whole stadium to ourselves.  Jeff called his dad skating through center ice.  Nicholas scored a goal during their inter-squad scrimmage.  Sarah and Katie ran around the entire arena with all the other siblings.  They didn’t want to leave when our hour was up.  I figured out that I NEED a new camera, and I think I know which one to get.  I think I may go shopping tomorrow.

Tomorrow, Nicholas has his first game that will be played between the periods of our high school team’s game.  Both sets of Grandparents will attend.  It is a big Hockey weekend here in our household.  Both of the boys are over the moon.  I am just happy to see them so happy.

6 Comments
  1. January 9, 2010 6:43 am

    My cousins were (and still are) really involved with hockey in Michigan, and my husband played up until last year. I went to a lot of his games when he played with the “old boys” teams in Chicago. I love hockey but don’t see it much anymore. And I’m kind of glad neither of my kids is interested because it’s EXPENSIVE! Nicholas looks SO cute!

    • January 10, 2010 5:24 pm

      Does Anders miss playing hockey? In the years since Jeff last coached he has missed it terribly. He has a bad knee, so he quit playing. But he still tells me that he dreams about scoring goals at night. Those are the days he doesn’t want to wake up :)

  2. January 9, 2010 10:50 am

    It’s so sweet to see a daddy and his son sharing something like hockey – I think this is something most men dream of! I hope Nicholas has a great first game. And really, it all sounds like a good excuse to sit on the sidelines and slurp hot chocolate to me. :)

    Hope you find the perfect camera for all those action shots!

    • January 10, 2010 5:25 pm

      I still haven’t purchased a new camera. I haven’t had time! Right now I am procrastinating. I have a brownie meeting to plan, and I just don’t want to. I thought I should get these tasks done on the internet first! (Hahahahaha…..)

  3. January 9, 2010 1:00 pm

    Ah, yes. The draw of hockey is mighty and strong for those of us in the North (Canadian here; I feel your pain.)

    It’s great for the kids though; wears them out and makes the SLEEP!

  4. January 10, 2010 5:28 pm

    Hi there! Thanks for your comment!

    Nicholas fell asleep so fast last night I am not sure his head had hit the pillow yet. So, I agree, Hockey=Sleep :)

    Have you had this awful frigid weather in Canada this week? UGH… I am ready for some 20 degree days. I may feel like taking off my jacket!

Comments are closed.

