Skip to content

A mini update and book review

January 14, 2010

Everyone is asleep.  The children are snug in their beds and my darling Jeff is asleep on the couch, in his work clothes.  He fell asleep while we were watching Frosty the Snowman.  Tired, tired boy, he is.  Last night, I was talking to my friend (while I was getting Nicholas ready for hockey) and launched into a plan for book club tonight, when she exclaimed:  “Book Club is NEXT week!”  So, I lunged at my computer and lo and behold, she was right.  A gift.  A whole day where I didn’t need to get anyone, including myself, anywhere.  Dream.  Come.  True.  Therefore, my Christmas Tree came down.  All of the ornaments are tucked away for another year.  Christmas is over.  It is a melancholy feeling when Christmas is disassembled, isn’t it?  I listened to Christmas music, sang along, and sent up secret prayers of Thanksgiving.  We rocked Christmas this year.  And as one last hurrah, we had spritz Christmas cookies for dessert tonight.  They were tasty.

*****

I read my first book of 2010 this week.  Mostly because I thought I had to be done with it by today, but hey, now it is off the list, right?

The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein.  The whole book is written from the dog’s point of view.  Now, I love dogs, but I initially thought this sounded a little bit like a children’s book.  Actually, this dog is more of an old soul.  You know that the dog is going to die on the first page, so there is little tension about that.  It seems like a theme in dog-type stories that the dog always dies at the end.  I hate that.  I cry just thinking about it.  This book is full of racing terminology and life lessons in racing terms.  I am not a big car racing fan, but eventually I got used to reading about it, and I really liked the philosophical parallels between racing and life.  (A weird side note:  I have been thinking about one of the philosophical lessons a lot since I finished the book:  “Your car goes where your eyes go.”  Then, today, I visited Laini and she has basically the same phrase as the title of  her post!  The universe must be telling me something there, don’t you think?)  There are many twists and turns and near crashes, but it comes out alright in the end.  It really does.  (That doesn’t mean I didn’t bawl at the end, though.)  It is a good, quick read.  But be careful where you read it because it might be embarrassing when you start to cry.

I went shopping yesterday and bought Committed by Elizabeth Gilbert and I can’t wait to start reading!  I haven’t yet, and I probably won’t tonight.  This weekend, however, I am sure I will find some time to dive into it and drink up all of her amazing life.  I really wanted to buy Barbara Kingsolver’s new book as well, but I need to slow down and read what I have first.  That might be my next book though.  I also bought myself a new camera.  I am a bit intimidated by it, but it seems easy to use.  I still have to figure out some things, but I can take pictures with it, and I have downloaded said pictures onto my computer already.  So, YAY!

I haven’t started making the stupid banner for hockey yet.  I bought all of the supplies, but I am in that place where I need to plan it all out in my head first.  I wish I had a model so I knew the essentials of the content, but I can figure it out.  It is just going to take a while.  I probably won’t get it done by my deadline tomorrow.  That’s okay.  It is only a scrimmage.  I will have it done soon enough.

One more thing: Today is DELURKER day.  And, even if you are reading this tomorrow, or next week, or next month please delurk and say Hi!  I can’t wait to hear from you.  Here is a topic:  Have you read a book (or 6?) this year?  If so, what did you read and how did you like it?  If not, are you planning on reading a book soon?  Which one?  If you want to write about something other than books, please feel free…no pressure…just pleeeease leave a comment!

12 Comments
  1. January 15, 2010 5:24 am

    I love how you took down the tree. It sounds like a great way to pack everything away.

    I also read The Art of Racing in the Rain because someone said it was FUNNY! I cried almost thoughout the book.

    • January 19, 2010 9:00 am

      I have heard that people think it is funny too. There are parts that are amusing, but FUNNY? I wouldn’t put it under “humor” at the book store.

  2. January 15, 2010 4:33 pm

    I got vetoed on listening to Christmas music while we took the trees apart and packed everything up. Amazingly, it only took two days this year…usually it takes me a week! Sure helps having mom here.

    I read that Racing in the Rain book too, last year, but I didn’t like it as much as you did. I thought it was too predictable and was rather bored by the characters, but it was probably just so I wouldn’t have to think about the dog dying part. :) I didn’t like the book (6!) that I was reading either, but this time? I gave up halfway through. Life is too short to read books you don’t like. Now I’m starting Audrey Niffenegger’s new one: Her Fearful Symmetry. Have high hopes!

    I need to update my blog. It’s been nearly a week since I wrote. This week has completely kicked my butt.

    • January 19, 2010 9:06 am

      I did like the book, but I agree that it was very predictable, even though I kept hoping that my predictions were wrong. It isn’t a book I finished and thought, “wow” or anything. Just an easy read with some good life lessons to think about. And I LOVED the dog.

      I will have to check out Her Fearful Symmetry. Right now, I am in the beginnings of Committed. LOVE!

  3. January 15, 2010 8:57 pm

    This is a random comment but my name is Meg and a few bloggers, one in particular, calls me Megsie and I liked it so much! How funny that I was reading your comments on another blog and saw “megsie.” I hope that blogger isn ‘t confusing us but how funny is that?! How did you get the name Megsie(nic name, right?)? Cute blog by the way, I love your use of colors!
    I haven’t ever visited your blog but I’m not a lurker but here’s a comment for you! Nice visiting your blog : ), meg!

    • January 19, 2010 9:10 am

      I am so glad you stopped by!

      My mother used to call me Megsie when I was a little girl. I started using it when I commented because there were so many “Meg” characters out in the blog world, and I wanted to be a little different. It is weird. When I was little there were virtually no other Megs around. NONE. So, it is a new experience for me to try and be different. I always thought I was!

  4. January 16, 2010 8:45 am

    I definitely want to read Committed. I await to hear your verdict!

    And guess what? I joined the online book group The Book Lushes (http://booklushes.ning.com/
    and our first read is “The Help”! I was so pleased and finally went out and bought it. I haven’t started it yet, but it is yet another sweet book in my huge pile of ‘to be read’. And…I will probably start Pride and Prejudice sometime next week. Let’s do try to read it together. I am ashamed that I’ve never been able to get through it, it seems like a personal flaw, somehow.

    So excited about your new camera! You’ll have to tell us what you bought and give us the full review. I am eagerly awaiting more hockey shots!

    • January 19, 2010 9:14 am

      I will check out booklushes, thanks for the tip :)

      I am loving Committed. I just love Elizabeth Gilbert, her voice and her writing style the whole she-bang. I also love that she is writing about marriage. LOVE!

      I bought a Cannon Powershot SX20. Still intimidated. Haven’t taken any pictures lately. Need to SHOWER before I explore anymore, oh, and do the LAUNDRY.

      Let me know what I need to read in Pride & Prejudice… Anyone else want to join us?

  5. January 18, 2010 9:17 pm

    Sounds like some great books! I love reading, but lately they are all nursing books for school. I can’t wait for the summer so I can read some leisure books!!!!

    • January 19, 2010 9:17 am

      Thanks for stopping by commenting!

      I got my Master’s degree last year, so I totally know where you are coming from. If it wasn’t for my book club, I wouldn’t have read anything but professional books from September, 2008 through August, 2009. Did you just start Nursing School? Sounds like an exciting new frontier. I could never do it, needles are not my thing, so I am in awe of you!

  6. January 22, 2010 6:48 pm

    Hi! I’m not a lurker (but you know that!) I’m just fairly crackling and zinging with ideas this week and haven’t had any time to read blogs. xo!

    • January 23, 2010 4:06 pm

      My, oh my Christina~ I CANNOT wait until I hear your news! Thanks for stopping by though…it means a lot :)

Comments are closed.

