Skip to content

The Year in Review

February 5, 2010

Well.  It is February.  I can’t believe that January is over already.  It went so fast!  We were busy with hockey and with Dance and, of course, the winter sickness.  We are still fighting the sickness.  It began with Katie, went to me, then to Nicholas, and now Sarah.  Hopefully Jeff will escape it’s grasp.

Last weekend was Katie and Sarah’s Winter Show for Dance.  They did so great, and had so much fun.  There were two performances on Saturday.  They felt like stars.  Jeff bought each of them a rose which he gave them after the last show.  They proudly put them in their own rooms, not willing to share.

I have decided to look back at those darn resolutions and see how I have done so far.  I fear it isn’t great.  But this is only month two of twelve.

1.  Weight Watchers/Exercise: I have lost 8 pounds.  Good start.  I had also found out when I joined that gained back every single pound I lost the last time I joined WW.  Way to go, Meg.  I have not begun the exercise part yet.  It is on the horizon.  I will begin with walking, and then gradually add running time.

2.  Organize/Purge/Decorate: I have cleaned out some messy spots and purchased trunks and a hamper.  I still have some spots to clear out.  I got rid of 6 bags of stuff, but have to go through the basement playroom and storage room.  Those 6 bags are just the tip of the iceberg.  I have fallen off the wagon on this, and need to put my “to do” list back into action.  The motivation was high at first and has dwindled.  I blame the sickness–never my procrastination :)

3.  Writing: I have been pretty good about replying to comments, but the writer’s notebook has been abandoned once again.  I pulled it out the other night, but I need to make it more of a routine.  EVERY night it should at least be attempted.  I also haven’t posted as much as I would like.  (Darn sickness….)

4.  Reading: I have been reading the newspaper more.  Not every day, but often enough for me to be able to carry on intelligent conversations when I need to.  I would still like to make this an everyday ritual.  I read another book:  Committed by Elizabeth Gilbert.  I loved it.  I love her style of writing and I loved the historical side of marriage.  I also was intrigued by her own process  that lead to her marriage.  A great sequel to Eat, Pray, Love.  I am planning to go and get my next book club book to begin reading today.

5.  Enjoying Kids: Well.  They have been sick.  I don’t enjoy that.  I did enjoy the Dance Recital.  I also enjoy taking pictures of them with my new camera!  We begin ski lessons tonight, so that should be fun too.   I still need to go sliding with them.  And, we have to go to the theme-park at the Mall of America to use some wrist-bands that we got for Christmas.  Those will be fun things as well.  We have never been American Idol watchers, but this year I decided to TiVo it.  We have been watching the auditions and judging people with the judges.  We are enjoying that a lot.

6.  Find Job that I love: Well, I haven’t heard anything yet.  I did get a resume done and a letter of interest out.  I also dusted off my delusions of Grandeur and thought that someone would actually reply and be interested.  I guess I still have a long row to hoe in this area.

7.  Invite Friends to Dinner: Epic FAIL so far.  No invitations in sight either.

There you have it.  I have done a bit more than I thought, but not as much as I would have liked to complete.  I need to work on the lack of motivation.  It feels so good when something gets accomplished.  I just need to start again.  Potential…there is so much potential here.  That is what I need to focus on:  Potential.

4 Comments
  1. February 5, 2010 1:54 pm

    8lbs!!!! Dang girl, that is great!! Jillian is no match for the McGriddle I had this morning.
    And I wonder why I am not losing weight. Hahaha. You are doing great on your resolutions. Keep up the good work.

    Oh….BTW, our kids are in the play together.

    • February 6, 2010 3:17 pm

      I am excited about the play. Sarah has been looking forward to being in one since Kindergarten, but there have only been plays for grades 3-5. All of my kids are in it, and are so pumped up about it!

  2. February 5, 2010 4:49 pm

    Oh dear, there’s accountability in resolutions?? Drrr… EIGHT pounds? You’re amazing. I think I gained back the 2 pounds I’ve lost so far TONIGHT. Moo.

    • February 6, 2010 3:20 pm

      Showing people my resolutions made me think I should at least TRY and stay on track. I laughed out loud at your “moo”! Yesterday I hit a new low…I started stealing Chocolate Chips out of the fridge. Now I want more…DAMNIT!

Comments are closed.

