Skip to content

Monday Morning, Blah

February 8, 2010

I came here today to see if I could find some of that motivation that I know was here at some point.  I still can’t find it.  Today it is snowing so hard that everything is blurred with the blowing snowflakes.  Jeff used the snow blower again this morning, which is telling.  We are both shovel people.  I am afraid I will be pulling out the ol’ shovel more than once today.  It is supposed to snow through Wednesday.

What I want to do today is curl up on my couch under the afghan.  And, that’s it.  Nap, read, watch TV… snuggle with my dog, stay in my jammies.  I would also like someone to bring me food and drink whenever the need arises.  And they could probably clean up the weekend mess and take care of the kids as well.  Ahh, fantasies.  While we are at it, could I win the lottery too?

The girls had dance on Saturday, and I talked with my friend about the reading teacher job.  She made me feel better.  She told me that nobody would contact me until there were postings of positions.  Right now, spring semester just started, so there are no postings.  I still need to figure out when to follow-up, or if I should follow-up.  I still am hopeful that this will work out.  However, I think I need to explore other options as well.  I need to get a job of some sort and make some money.  That will be as close to a lottery win as I can muster, I am afraid.  (Especially since I don’t really buy the lottery tickets.  I think they are necessary in order to win…)

I have to lead a Girl Scout meeting today, and I am less than enthusiastic about it.  I have some ideas, but nothing special.  I think we will just hang out a little today.  We have a speaker coming from the local food pantry, and we need to make posters for our cookie booth.  Otherwise, maybe we can just sing and practice our talent show routine.  We plan so much stuff for our meetings that it is rare to have down-time.  Plus, half of the girls won’t be there because they are in the school play that holds their first practice today.

I am so tired.  Sometimes I think that when life gets in the way and I don’t have time for my own agenda, then my agenda gets pushed aside and it is so difficult for me to get it back.  When I am not productive, then I feel so yucky.  (I don’t know how else to put it.)  I get lazy.  I really try to avoid projects, which just makes me feel worse.  It is weird.  And it happens regularly.  I still do all the stuff that NEEDS to get done, I just don’t do anything else.  Or, I try to avoid doing anything else.   That is where I am today.  The phrase “I should…” keeps circling my thoughts.  I should wash Nicholas’s quilt.  I should just plain do laundry.  I should clean out my closet.  I should pick up the weekend mess.  I should go out and shovel…  There are many, many more examples.  I may break my “three thing” to do list and just write everything down.  Maybe then I will find something that will peak my interest.

Last week, while avoiding house projects, I found a wonderful recipe at The Kitchen Sink for broccoli soup.  It was cold, Jeff and Nicholas had outdoor hockey practice, soup for dinner would be perfect.  Now, just so you know, my kids won’t eat soup.  Not even chicken noodle soup.   NO SOUP.  I love soup.  Even the Progresso Light soup.  We had leftover pork tenderloin, so I heated that up and made some french fries for them.  I made home-made broccoli soup for Jeff and I.  Then I got inspired and decided to make some homemade bread as well.  Christina had posted a recipe ages ago and I had copied it and put it in my recipe file, but I never made it.  Perfect.  Easy too.  So, Jeff and I had yummy homemade soup and bread for dinner.  Thank you internet!   I ended up making another loaf of bread last night for dinner.  Jeff made jambalaya for dinner, as he does every Super Bowl Sunday.  It was divine.  I need to get back on track food-wise this week.  I have fallen off the wagon.  I just LOVE good food!

How are you guys doing ?  Have you found your motivation?  If you have, can I borrow some?

8 Comments
  1. February 8, 2010 1:15 pm

    OMG – I could have written this, it fits so PERFECTLY with how I am feeling. I admit, I do have a job, but otherwise: non-motivated, hibernatory, BLAH. Let’s you and me go for a walk or something, eh?

    • February 10, 2010 10:14 pm

      I actually need to start walking. MOVE MORE. I just don’t want to get up that early in the morning. I know, I could walk later in the day. But I am a creature of habit. I love walking early in the morning before the sun comes up. It is quiet. The animals are out. There is a certain divine interaction that happens. BUT. I still want to sleep in. There has to be something divine about that too, right?

  2. February 8, 2010 9:34 pm

    Motivation. hahahaha I feel exactly the same way. I have a to do list a mile long, yet Facebook and blogging is all I can muster.

    • February 10, 2010 10:11 pm

      Maybe we should put facebook and blogging ON OUR TO DO LISTS! Then we would totally be on TASK!

  3. February 11, 2010 2:27 am

    “Yucky” is exactly the right word for it. I get that way too… Last November, I was getting into a great writing groove when a friend came to visit for a week. Even though she is also writerly and we had down-time each day, I just couldn’t get in a creative mindset (introvert, much?), and I didn’t get my mojo back until AFTER NEW YEAR’S. It’s a horrible feeling, and I’m sure the snow doesn’t help. (Here, it’s fog and rain and rainy fog, and I find myself sincerely wishing for snow so at least it wouldn’t be another day of freaking rain and fog.) Anyway, I hope you’re able to get your spark back and find your way out of the doldrums soon! (And P.S. – I put blogging on my to-do list, and sometimes Facebook even makes its way on as “connecting.” Hey, better to feel productive than guilty about something I’m going to do anyway, right?)

    • March 1, 2010 6:20 pm

      I love the idea that you put blogging on the to do list! And FACEBOOK? Yes! I am productive after all!

  4. February 16, 2010 3:23 pm

    Ditto on the yucky. And once the procrastination starts, it snowballs into cranky panic and I become the worst mom and wife ever. So I walk the dog early in the morning for at least 90 minutes (she’s a big dog, to technically it’s on my to do list), and come back in a good head. Then on days when I start to get behind and fall into a gray frame of mind, I crawl into bed and take a 30 minute nap. Without guilt. Think of it as a Divine Intervention in the afternoon. Then I wake up, have a cup of tea, and I’m human and efficient again. The nap and the tea usually that gives me a second wind, and the nap replaced my craving for “energy” candy (a half to 3/4 bag of Twizzler Cherry Bites). I think we go too much and for too long without breaks, and then we implode. I’m not sure I get a lot more done, but at least I’m not beating myself and my family up over what I cannot get to.

    • February 18, 2010 11:27 pm

      Yes! Naps solve almost every problem, don’t they? Tomorrow it will be on my “to do” list.

Comments are closed.

