Skip to content

Please send good thoughts…

February 10, 2010

My mom is having surgery early tomorrow morning.  She has a cyst on her ovary that was discovered during her annual exam.  Her doctor said, “Ovarian Cancer.”  She saw a doctor when she got to California in January, and after a CT scan, he said he doubted that it was cancer, but he couldn’t rule it out.  My parents flew home on Sunday.  She saw another doctor on Tuesday who also doubts it is cancer, but won’t rule it out.

Tomorrow, she will have her ovaries out laparoscopically unless, once they are in there, they see something that is wrong.  Then, they will do a full hysterectomy.  I feel like it will be a positive outcome.  I have every reason to believe that the laparoscopic surgery will be exactly what she needs and that she will be home tomorrow.  But.  But.  I still have that  nagging pit in my stomach.  She will be 75 in April.  Surgery is surgery.  They have not ruled out Cancer.  Her good friend was diagnosed with cancer in the summer, and died before Christmas.  Another friend of a friend was diagnosed in October and died in January.  It frankly scares the hell out of me.

So.  Please send good thoughts into the universe for my mom.  Prayers, vibes, whatever you want to call it.  I will be praying.  I assigned my children to say a prayer for Grandma tonight.  I would appreciate any you could spare as well.  Thank YOU.

10 Comments
  1. February 11, 2010 12:21 am

    I will definitely being praying for your mom, and for you, especially as you wait for news. The scariest part is not knowing. Praying for peace to get you through tonight, and your beloved mama too!

    • February 12, 2010 5:05 pm

      That means so much to me Sam. Thanks. Not knowing is the worst part.

  2. February 11, 2010 2:14 am

    nice share. anw, you can find more about cancer here

    • February 12, 2010 5:06 pm

      Thanks for your comment. And thanks for the info :)

  3. February 11, 2010 2:29 am

    Even the possibility of cancer is terrifying — I’ll definitely keep your mom in my prayers as well as you and your sweet kiddos hoping the best for their grandma. Let us know when you find out how the surgery goes!

    • February 12, 2010 5:07 pm

      Thanks Bethany~ Terrifying explains it perfectly. It has been weighing me down for the past couple of weeks. Your kind words make all the difference :)

  4. February 11, 2010 7:26 am

    My mom went through this last year and it is SCARY…*holding your hand* …And sending POWERFUL GOOD THOUGHTS!

    • February 12, 2010 5:09 pm

      I am so sorry that your mom had to go through this as well. I don’t remember reading about it. I can’t tell you how much it means to have a hand to hold mine through this ordeal. THANK YOU!

  5. February 11, 2010 9:00 pm

    Meg, I am sending lots of prayers and good thoughts. Anytime the “C” word is even uttered my heart skips a beat. Hang in there and I have all my fingers crossed that it is a non-cancerous cyst and the surgery is successful. Please let me know if you need help with anything!!!

    • February 12, 2010 5:10 pm

      Thanks Carly. It means so much to me. My heart has been skipping beats left and right.

Comments are closed.