Skip to content

Love and Valentines

February 14, 2010

Happy Valentine’s Day!

I love Valentine’s Day.  It brings LOVE into the focus.  I am so blessed to have so much love in my life.  We don’t really give presents on Valentine’s day, although I received presents today from my wonderful husband.  We give CANDY.  And make CARDS.

When I was a little girl, my dad always brought home one of those big heart-shaped boxes of Candy.  We all shared the candy, and I usually scored the box to play with because I was the youngest.  I remember waiting by the window for him to come home from work so we could open the treasured box.  So, when we had children, I assigned the chocolates to Jeff.  The first two years he went to a very fancy chocolate counter and bought Sarah and I fancy chocolates in very fancy boxes.  I loved mine, but Sarah was too little to love hers.  Which was fine, I didn’t mind eating hers, too.  I kept the boxes.  (They were too fancy to throw away!)  Since then, Jeff just goes and buys Chocolate kisses (and the like) and fills the boxes for the children with their favorite (cheap) candy.  Last year, my box was filled with green m&ms, which are my favorite.  This year, I received a dark chocolate bar, some fancy raspberry beer and a gift card to Barnes & Noble in my box.  (Okay, the beer was not in the box.)  (I love my presents!)

The best parts of the day are our meals.  The gifts are arranged at each person’s spot at the table when people come down in the morning.  I usually make Chocolate Chip Scones for breakfast, but this year Jeff made pancakes, eggs, bacon and two different kinds of sausage.  With strawberries on the side.  Everything was Yummy.  “Breakfast Nirvana.”  (His words.)  He bought the bacon and sausages at a meat market in Northeast Minneapolis where it is their specialty.  So.  Good. Apparently, he is cooking up some other sausage for us for lunch as well.  I can’t wait.  And, for dinner?  We always go to one of our favorite dives.  It’s a bar called Matt’s.  I have been going there my whole life.  I don’t know when we started going there on Valentine’s day, but it is perfect.  So, we will be there tonight to have their famous Juicy Lucys and drinks with no ice.  I love dive-bars.

The rest of our day today is:  Hockey, Play Dates, More Hockey, The Olympics.  I don’t have to deal with Hockey at all, jut the Play Dates.  So.  I will probably work on the laundry.  It is so far gone that I doubt I will make a dent in it.  That is fine with me, it will give me something to do that I don’t have to think about and I can watch the Olympics too.  I also NEED to start my book club book.  It needs to be read by Thursday.  I am on page 10.  I am such a slacker.  Every month I am panicking because I wait until the last minute.  I am excited about this book, I have only heard good things about it.  I will let you know.  Oh, it is by Pat Conroy:  South of Broad.

How do you celebrate Valentine’s Day?

6 Comments
  1. February 14, 2010 12:11 pm

    Raspberry Belgian beer?! Are you sharing? :) I love your Valentine’s cards, and I’m sure it means the world to your kids to know how much you value them (and even if they don’t realize it so much now, they definitely will in the long run).
    I’m so glad to hear the good news about your mom, by the way. That must be such a tremendous weight off your shoulders!

    • February 15, 2010 8:45 am

      We drank a bottle last night after we put the kids to bed, but before we fell asleep to the moguls and doubles figure skating. The first couple of sips are divine, and then, it was almost too sweet. I have never put those two words together “too sweet” I didn’t think there was such a thing. Tonight I will try mine over ice. Jeff wants to try his over vanilla ice cream!

      Thanks for the well wishes about my mom, she is doing really great!

  2. February 14, 2010 12:19 pm

    We just have little gifts, too and cards. No candy this year as Anders is restraining, though he did get me a little box of 4 truffles : ) Your traditions are lovely! Happy Valentine’s Day, Megsie!

    • February 15, 2010 8:46 am

      I love truffles! YUM! Hope you had a great *heart* day too!

  3. February 14, 2010 3:17 pm

    Happy Valentine’s Day! I love how you celebrate with your family. The cards you make are adorable!!! So sweet. I really don’t celebrate with the family….the kids get candy and I end up eating it. ha!

    I am just catching up with you and read about your mom. I am so happy that everything was benign and she is doing well. I send prayer for a speedy recovery.

    • February 15, 2010 8:48 am

      Thanks for the well wishes and prayers, Carly. My mom is doing so great it is unbelievable. She is already up and around!

      I think that is the BEST tradition on Valentines (and Halloween)–stealing the candy from the kids!

Comments are closed.

