Skip to content

Walk With Me

April 1, 2010

This morning I took my camera with me on my walk.  I wish there was an audio button that I could have used to record the cardinals serenading me and the turkeys gobbling at me to stay away.  I never found the turkeys.  I just heard them.  Many days I see much more wildlife than I saw this morning.  Deer, fox, rabbit and the elusive turkey.  Come along on my pre-dawn stroll, won’t you?

The moon was out,

Following me.

A little glow visible

From my front step.

My sleepy street

Behind our house

Where the water tower waits for me to visit.

The night on my right,

The dawn on my left.

And yet,

The moon seduces me,

Monopolizes my attention,

Fighting the dawn with all its strength.

The blurry path into the woods awaits.

While the sun shows its strength.

The old oaks greet me

Like old men at a sidewalk cafe.

And the birch trees

Stand at attention, always polite.

The tunnel is where I turn

To follow my footsteps homeward.

When I do,

There is the moon

Flirting with me once more.

The woods are patiently waiting

For the invasion of green.

They hold secrets of their own.

Mr. Drake drops in

To greet me.

And Ma Squirrel is busy

collecting for her brood.

The evergreens whisper

To each other

As I pass.

The moon says

Goodbye

And blows a kiss.

While the sun breaks

Over the horizon.

The cardinal’s song

Continues.

The water tower

Bids me a good day.

My street leads me back

Home.

To a blurry, fuzzy face.

How did you start your day?

10 Comments
  1. April 2, 2010 3:14 am

    How on earth do you manage to get up so early to walk? I’m lucky if I can drag my carcass out of bed when the alarm goes off the FIRST time. Fun to walk with you, though, even if virtual!

    • April 2, 2010 10:08 am

      It is the only time I have, before my husband goes to work. I suppose that I could walk once the twins go to Kindergarten, but that is right in the middle of the day, and I would talk myself out of it. Plus, I love going out before dawn. There is some kind of quiet magic that is in the air. Today I brought Franklin with me, but that is rare. He usually goes in with Sarah when I leave. I love being alone in the world if only for 45 minutes.

  2. April 2, 2010 8:12 am

    The magic of the sun coming up! I rarely see it these days, so good for you for getting out and walking! That tunnel makes me think of Harry Potter…when the Dementors come after Harry and his horrible cousin. And that squirrel! I am so partial to squirrels, even though I know they’re very close to rats. Their tails are just so pretty, I can’t help but want one for myself!

    • April 2, 2010 10:11 am

      It is magic isn’t it? Of course, I am partial to the moon, but the sunrise holds all of the possibilities for the day ahead. And, THANKS A LOT, now I am going to be looking for Dementors when I come to the tunnel, eeewwww, and aaaaahhhhh! I love squirrels too. We always had them nesting in our tree at our old house. I wish the ones around here would find our yard a good one to call home.

  3. April 4, 2010 4:38 pm

    you inspire me. i love being up before anyone else and watching the light come. i set my alarm with the best of intentions, but when it goes off i can rarely bring myself to leave the cozy bed if i don’t have to. i will try harder.

    • April 4, 2010 6:10 pm

      And that is the exact place I have been since last September. Sleep is intoxicating, isn’t it? It is so nice to stay cuddled in bed in the morning. I miss it, but I know I must begin again with the MOVE MORE! Good luck, I find that it is that first morning that is the hardest!

  4. April 7, 2010 9:37 am

    Oh I liked this very much! We were both up in the dark this morning!

  5. April 7, 2010 11:00 am

    Ever since the time changed (earlier here), I’ve been waking up on the bright side of sunrise. I require a ridiculous amount of sleep to live my day as a functional human, so getting up before dawn would require me going to bed before the girls do… but there is something so peaceful about being up early-early. I can’t believe how motivated you are!

    • April 9, 2010 4:23 pm

      Yes. That is the only issue that I have: Sleep. I am the night owl after everyone has gone to sleep as well. I must just be addicted to quiet. There is very little of that in my house these days.

Comments are closed.

