Skip to content

Home Sweet Home

April 16, 2010

The view from my parent's condo

There is no place like home.  There is no place like home.  There is no place like home.  Can you hear me clicking my heels together?  We went to California for spring break.  My parents winter there, so we visit every spring break.  I have been going there around Easter almost my whole life.  This year my kids were crossing the days off the calendar.  They couldn’t wait to get there.  We left on Friday, April 2, and stayed with my parents until last Saturday.  On Saturday, we took off to San Diego to explore.  We got home in the small hours of Tuesday morning, although by my account it was the middle of Monday night.  I am still so tired, and this jet lag?  Man, it sucks.  It is only two hours, but it is really throwing me for a loop.   I can’t even imagine what all of you world travelers go through.

The pool!

In Palm Springs, we just sat by the pool.  Every. Day.  The kids swam for 5 or 6 hours with breaks for lunch, popsicles, and cookies.  And, of course, the dripping wet potty breaks.  I read three books and could not ever get comfortable enough to take a nap, which was disappointing.  I walked and swam some days, and others I was the primary caregiver to the children so Jeff could have some down time.  The weather could not have been more perfect.  There was only one cloudy “chilly” day.  and by “chilly” I mean like 75 degrees.  The kids still went swimming, but only for about an hour that day.  It was rough.  The silver lining was that my parents have cable (we don’t).  So, they spent the day with Hannah Montana, iCarly and Sponge Bob Squarepants.  They were in heaven.

Expanding the closet into the bathroom...

This is the first year that I didn’t bring any of their toys with us.  I also didn’t pack their backpacks for them, or shop for something “new” to bring on the plane.  This was such a relief.  Freedom!  They did their own thing, and it worked out great!  My parents have a toy closet at their place, so they still had stuff to play with, of which they took full advantage, and we got down from 5 suitcases to THREE.  Having bigger kids is just so much easier than babies.  So.  Much.  Easier.

One of my favorite things about Palm Springs is the Street Fair.  (I still call it the Swap Meet.)  My mom knows all most of the vendors because it is her weekly haunt, and so I also have gotten to know many of them.  There is jewelery, and clothing, American Girl doll clothes, toys, art, rocks/gems, accessories, and just about anything else you can think of.  I always get some new jewelery and clothes there, and the kids go with one day to do their shopping (Grandpa always gives them some spending money).

The other favorite is the restaurants.  My very favorite is Las Caseulas.  We went to dinner there for Easter this year.  The terrace is so beautiful with stone sculptures and lighted trees, and the food…yum.

This year, I was a bit homesick while I was visiting.  Mostly for my couch and for some time when I was not with my kids.  When we are visiting my parents, the only place to sit after everyone is in bed is in the kitchen.  Not too comfy.  They have a TV in the kitchen, so we watched some HGTV and our regular shows, but it was not relaxing like it is at home on my couch.  I also am used to having some time each day when the kids are not near me.  They might be in school, or just down in the basement, or outside.  It is when I sit at the computer, or get a project done, or talk on the phone.  There was none of that on this vacation.  My kids aren’t big enough to be sent to the pool without supervision.  I was craving some quiet time.    And, I missed my computer so much.  I got on my dad’s computer a few times, but it was few and far between.  I also missed my own bed.  I love my bed.  The bed at my parent’s house is very posh.  But it is very soft as well.  Both Jeff and I are sore every morning.  Obviously, the good out weighed the homesickness, but usually I am not homesick at all.  It was a weird thing.

So, I am glad to be home.  I can’t wait to be in this time zone again.  That should happen soon, right?  Over the next few days or so I will tell you more, but I just needed to get something up here.  It has been over two weeks since my last post, so I was feeling a bit guilty for neglecting you.  I am all caught up on reading all of your writing out there too, which is a relief.  I didn’t comment on everything, but I read it all.  I missed you :)  Hope you all had a good couple of weeks as well.

8 Comments
  1. April 17, 2010 3:14 am

    The Swedes have a saying “Borta bra hemma best” : Away is good but home is best :)

    • April 18, 2010 9:07 am

      Oh, Liz! I love this! It makes me feel not so crazy :)

  2. April 17, 2010 11:07 am

    I’ve been missing you! It looks like you had a lovely vacation (pool, pool, and more pool!) and yet vacations can be just as tiring as real life. Okay, next vacation, you definitely get a date night, don’t you think?

    I always loved playing with the toys at my grandparents’ house (not that they had many, but there were certain THINGS I could play with) or at family friends’ houses. Total novelty value. Of course, Thomas has a stockpile of awesome toys at Lovie’s house, and Beaux’s grandparents (total veterans) have a toy closet that the kids love. I try to take less and less (mostly bedtime books and the train set) because really, how many toys does a kid need?

    I always find it such a relief when I come home and realize how much I love my life and my comfy home.

    • April 18, 2010 9:09 am

      Yes. A date night would be so very nice. I just don’t think I can ASK for one. If one was offered…well then that would be wonderful, wouldn’t it?

      I am glad that I am not the only one who loves to be in my own house.

      p.s. I have been missing you too :)

  3. April 18, 2010 7:42 am

    I love this “homesick for …a time when I was not with my kids.” This is totally what one of my essays is about in A Field Guide To Now.

    Glad you’re back safely and enjoying being home!

    • April 18, 2010 9:12 am

      I absolutely CANNOT WAIT until I can read your book. Seriously. I fantasize about it!

  4. April 21, 2010 10:36 am

    People thought we were crazy for shipping our mattress and couches overseas when there are perfectly good alternatives here… but each time we return from a trip, Daniel and I are even surer we made the right decision. A full 20-ft. container to ship overseas? $3,000. Sinking into our own bed after two weeks in a tent? Priceless.

    • April 24, 2010 10:44 pm

      See? I am not crazy. Right? Right?

Comments are closed.

