Skip to content

Easter Sunday

April 18, 2010

We had a wonderful Easter in California.  The eggs were colored.  The Easter Bunny found us (it was the source of much anxiety) and was extremely generous.  There were baskets and eggs.  In Minnesota, there are never eggs.  And these eggs? They were hidden outside as well as inside.  Whoa.  Crazy stuff.  The other thing about The Bunny?  He stayed around for another egg hunt at the club house.  And?  You could get your picture taken with him.  This California Easter thing was completely over the top.  The only thing that was somewhat of a challenge was the time change.  All of my kids were up in the wee hours of the morning, and we had decided that nobody could come out until 7:00 on Easter morning.  We had hours to kill.  So, being the good mother that I am, I made them all shower.  Had to be cute for Easter, right?  So, forgive the pictures where Sarah (who has hair as thick as a wooly mammoth) has a wet head.

Sarah, Katie, my niece Grace, and Nicholas

Eggs!  Outside!

Look at all that LOOT!

At the club house, ready for the hunt

We love you Easter Bunny!

Did I forget to mention the dancing? Because there was dancing.

Once the festivities were over, I made some egg bake, my sister made some hash browns, and my mom cut up an enormous amount of fruit.  Then, as the egg bake baked, we all high tailed it to the pool (surprise!).  It was a delicious brunch eaten in our swim suits.

When we were lounging back at the pool, in the mid-afternoon, we experienced something that we have never experienced before.  Of all the times that Jeff and I have visited (and even before I knew Jeff, Palm Springs has been our yearly spring break destination) we have never felt an earthquake.  This year we did!  I thought Jeff was shaking the lounge chair where I was sitting next to him until my dad asked us if we felt that.  It lasted a while, like maybe a minute, even two.  We told the kids to get out of the pool so they could feel it too.  Excitement at the pool on Easter!

We usually are home for Easter.  Spring Break in our school district is usually the week before Easter.  We usually come home on Good Friday and I host Easter dinner with the ham and the mashed potatoes….  But not this year!  This year we had yummy Mexican Tamales.  After a day of sun worshiping, we got ready for my very favorite restaurant:  Las Caseulas.  I went shudder happy during dinner.  Here is a peek:

Statues of the washer women

I hope your Easter Celebrations were as wonderful!

4 Comments
  1. April 18, 2010 1:47 pm

    WHOA! Those Easter baskets are serious business! OTT!

    • April 24, 2010 10:38 pm

      Yes. OTT. I was at my PARENT’S house. They are always, always OTT. See: Christmas in a past post. I can honestly say that I had NOTHING to do with it. I just wrote a rather large check to pay my sister back.

  2. April 21, 2010 10:39 am

    I saw that first picture and was briefly confused, considering you only have three children. Or so I had thought. :) Moral of the story = read the captions! And yes, that is quite the pile of loot. Did the Easter Bunny hide wine in any of those eggs?

    • April 24, 2010 10:41 pm

      Sadly, no wine was found. But, chocolate marshmallow eggs were stolen. They were almost as good! As for the caption, I was/am uncomfortable putting my sister’s kid’s picture up here because she doesn’t know I have a blog. I think she would disapprove as would her husband. I didn’t have any egg-coloring pictures without her though. So, oh well. I hope I don’t get caught!

Comments are closed.

