Skip to content

A Mother’s Blessing

May 9, 2010

Is there anyone else out there who forgets how monumental it is to be a mother?  When going through ordinary days of dishes, laundry, crap strewn across the floor, barking orders at anyone within ear shot, it is so easy to forget.  It is easy to become consumed with forms to fill out, lessons to attend, RSVPs for birthday parties, feeding, clothing, and rearing that the blessing of it all gets lost in the shuffle.  That is why I love Mother’s Day.

Don’t get me wrong, I love that my children try their hardest to let me sleep in with their loud whispers reminding each other to be quiet.  I love the leverage I have that it is my day, so no whining.  I love being honored.  But really, what I love more is seeing my children.  Seeing how thoughtful and full of love they have become in such a short time on this earth.  They were up at 6:00 this morning, just waiting for me to wake up.  They couldn’t wait to give me their hand-made treasures, and breakfast in bed.

One of our babysitters just had a baby.  She is 21, and her little girl was born premature.  I have only seen pictures of her, but it brought back my own experiences of giving birth.  How truly awesome it is to grow a person inside your body, and then one day there they are, right next to you in this world, ready to grow up and become themselves.  I think back to those squirmy little people who squeaked to get fed, and then I look outside and see my children riding their bikes (two without training wheels–that just happened this week) down the street, so independent.  I am amazed.  To have the privilege to mother them is almost too big to shoulder when you really think about it.

The decision to have children was difficult for me.  I really liked my life without them, and some days that life becomes my fantasy, but it would have been an empty life if my kids were never born.  Sure, we would have more money, more freedom.  But we are so much richer now.  It is hard to capture the words to explain how your life splits down the middle and opens up when you have children.  How they become your world, and enrich your life.  Sometimes, I think I have forgotten to live my own life because I have been so busy attending to theirs, and that is necessary when you are a parent.  But, I have learned, by living my own life, I enrich their lives even more.  Teaching by example, giving them permission to live their own lives when they become parents.

Today we will share meals with a Jeff’s family and with my family.  When I think about how my mom must feel seeing both her daughters all grown up with houses and husbands and children makes me shake my head.  I can’t imagine sitting where she is, at this stage in her life.  It doesn’t seem possible.  I guess it is just like looking at those new tiny people and trying to picture them riding their bikes down the street.  Today, I let myself watch them.  I let myself be amazed, and feel grateful.  I never thought I was important enough to be responsible for three other people’s lives.  What will they be like when they turn 40?  Will they have children?  Will they love their jobs?  Will they be happy?  Strong?  Resilient?  Brilliant?  It is hard to picture.  But I have high hopes for them.  Just as I am sure my mom had high hopes for me.

To all of you out there:  Happy Mother’s Day.  If you have your own children, do me a favor, sit back and watch.  Remember.  Appreciate. Enjoy.  If you don’t, remember your own mother.  She is probably thinking the same thing I am right now, how did I get so lucky?   How did I become so important?  How did my child(ren) become so fantastic?  I have been blessed.

8 Comments
  1. May 9, 2010 2:55 pm

    How lovely, and what a perfect reminder to us all to STAY in the moment and enjoy the blessings we have :)

    • May 16, 2010 9:10 am

      It is nice to do, but hard to stay in the moment. That is why I am glad there are days that bring this to my consciousness. I wish I could appreciate every moment, because it is sad how many “cute” or “funny” moments irritate me when life is happening. A step back is always a good reminder.

  2. May 9, 2010 3:05 pm

    Beautiful. Motherhood is beyond words, yet you expressed it so perfectly. happy mother’s day Meg!!!

    • May 16, 2010 9:11 am

      Oh, thank you Sara! Hope you had a happy Mother’s Day too!

  3. May 10, 2010 6:05 pm

    Beautiful Meg! Hope you had a great Mother’s Day!

    • May 16, 2010 9:12 am

      Thanks Carly! It was so great to go out the other night! We really need to attend more PTSA meetings, even if it is just for the after party :)

  4. May 11, 2010 8:25 am

    I love – LOOOOOVE!! – the handmade cards. I think there is nothing more precious or personal than a handmade card, and it’s going to be a new tradition for all the mamas in my family! (Maybe next year I’ll get my own one?)

    It really does blow your mind, doesn’t it? We feed them and nurture them and then they take off running, or biking, ready for adventure. It does feel like the greatest privilege to be a part of it. And to know that, without us? There would be no clean underwear! Ha!

    Oh, I hope your babysitter’s baby is thriving and will be out of the NICU soon! It makes for such a rough start to the journey…I still get weepy when I see babies on TV in the NICU. Hope everyone will be healthy and HOME soon!

    • May 16, 2010 9:17 am

      I am in complete agreement about the cards. This year was the BEST! (It took six years to warm up, and to have a good teacher’s guidance!)

      And, ummmm…. Judging from the laundry pile(s) around this house (the hamper is overflowing, and I have a basket of dirty clothes in my bedroom, not to mention the actual laundry room…) I will be surprised if anyone can find clean underwear today. Laundry Sunday it is!

      xoxo

      ps.
      The baby is doing great, but isn’t home yet.

Comments are closed.

