Skip to content

A Quick Hello

June 5, 2010

Today we are running around, so I have to be brief.  We have already been to Nicholas’s  (is that correct with the ‘s?) baseball game and to the dance recital that is going on right now, so my girls could dance in the sister’s dance.  The girls and I have to be back there in a few short hours because Sarah dances tonight, and Katie will be there until the sister’s dance is over.

There are four recitals this weekend.  We missed the sister’s dance last night because of the funeral and festivities.  They were supposed to dance in it last night, but life happens, I guess.  Both girls dance tomorrow afternoon, so that is the recital that the grandparents and we are attending.  I work the one tonight “stage left” which sounds so important, doesn’t it?  Needless to say, I will be glad when this shindig is over.  It is a lot of running around!  However, it gives the girls that taste of show biz.  Dressing in costume, a bit of make up, dancing in multiple shows.  It is just the parents that are run ragged.  I am sure Sarah and I won’t get home until 10:00 tonight.

The big bummer of today is the rain.  Sitting in the rain to watch baseball is NOT fun.  Nicholas plays in an instructional league and that means no strikes, no outs, and unlimited pitches.  The whole team bats and then they switch.  The kids run the bases and never get out (even when they are clearly out).  Obviously, you can’t keep score because every kid scores.  It is a long “game” to watch.  Nicholas got a couple of great hits and made a couple of great plays in the field, but it was mostly painful.  Especially because my eldest child reverted to her toddler roots.  Whining and crying and being a major pain in the behind.  When I mentioned how three-year-old behavior came to mind, she seemed to snap out of it.  But it was most of the game when my buttons were being pushed non stop.  If I could have left, I would have.  This must be payback for blaming her for losing her little tap skirt.

It is still raining, and the garden is in heaven while the rest of us are soggy.  I hope your Saturday is going swimmingly.  I hope you have sunshine on your shoulder and sunshiny moods surrounding you.  I am off to plan an early dinner!  I have no idea what to make.

3 Comments
  1. June 5, 2010 2:47 pm

    Make a taco paj !!!

  2. June 5, 2010 2:47 pm

    And also, watching any child’s game in the rain is excrutiating, but honestly, I don’t know how you can sit through instructional baseball. That’s not a game! URGH. When do they graduate to real baseball?

    • June 5, 2010 3:46 pm

      How weird Liz! I am not making Taco Pie, but just plain tacos…close enough to being in my brain again! I hope he plays in “real” baseball next year, but it might not be all the way real. I would just be happy with three outs and seven pitches at this point!

Comments are closed.

