Skip to content

Baptism

June 8, 2010

The rain is enveloping my yard.

Streams of raindrops

Quench the thirst

Of the newly choreographed garden.

The sky looks white

Bright enough

That it causes me to look away,

To squint

The rest of the landscape

Is Green.

Green drips from the trees

Into the ponds of grass

Green bushes emerge from the edges of

Everything.

The Green surrounds

And swallows me up.

The rain pitter-patters

On the roof, the windows.

The music it creates

Makes my eyes drowsy

And my shoulders relax.

There is a chill

In the air

That requires a sweater

Wrapped around my shoulders

And a blanket

laying across my lap.

The companions that beg

For my attention

On this rainy day:

A pen and notebook,

A ball of yarn,

A good book.

These friends embrace

The quiet;

Relish in it.

The brash sunshine far

Away.

The tranquility of water

Washing away the busyness

Baptizing me

In solitude.

5 Comments
  1. June 8, 2010 10:25 am

    Yesterday’s post was posted at 11:59 PM. I thought I would get a jump on today! I didn’t want to be rushing through again tonight. The joy of NaBloPoMa!

  2. June 8, 2010 11:20 am

    Can you NaBloPoMa all year? :) I’m loving this!

    • June 9, 2010 11:16 pm

      Umm. I don’t think I could do it. I am having trouble just getting through the first two weeks of June! But thank you. I am glad you are loving it. I love your kind words… and YOU! xoxo

      • June 9, 2010 11:17 pm

        Oh, I hope Bethany sees my reply! I put italics in my comment, and she taught me how!

Trackbacks

  1. More Book Talk « Becoming Megsie…

Comments are closed.

