Skip to content

More Book Talk

June 9, 2010

I mentioned earlier that Sarah is reading The Little House on the Prairie, right?  She is totally engrossed in it, and I have to ban it from the kitchen table while we are eating.  (Only when we are eating as a family, otherwise I couldn’t care less.)  Anyway, this morning when she was brushing her hair before going to school, she was irritated that her hair was so tangled.  So, she comes into the kitchen (I was making Nicholas a toad-in-the-hole) and says, “Why is my hair so knotty?  I wish I had a night-cap so my hair wouldn’t get so tangled up.”  I tried to suppress a smile.  How cute is that?  A night-cap?  This is such a great illustration of the power of books.  I love it.

I have been reading the letters that Yann Martel has published on his website “What is Stephen Harper Reading” that I mentioned in my last post.  I am so fascinated with how he discusses the books that he has sent to the Canadian Prime Minister.  I love reading.  I love books.  I love reading books and talking about them with other people.  However, I am not an English Literature major.  I read books and whatever I connect with is what I discuss.  He is so literary.  And Brilliant.  I have decided to read all of the letters before I begin with book one:  Leo Tolstoy’s The Death of Ivan Ilych.  Actually, I have a list before I begin with that project.  I have book club coming up in two weeks, and we are reading Half Broke Horses by Jeannette Walls.  It is another story about her family, this time about her Grandmother.  I loved The Glass Castle, and if the first two chapters are any indication of how this book will read, it will be just as good if not better.  When I am done with the obligatory book club selection, I have in my possession Laini’s two Dreamdark books!  I haven’t read them, although I read her blog whenever she posts, and I have read her Not A Robot:  How to be a Writer instructions.  I can’t wait to dive into them!  Can’t.  Wait.  I got them from the library.  I haven’t been able to find them at any local bookstores, so I requested them and now they are in my house!  They are also taunting me a little.  Just sitting there on the server, peeking over at me, tempting me to just flip through their pages…  NO.  Not yet.  (But, I really can’t wait!)

Okay, I have to go, it is 11:54 and I must post before midnight and I have a bunch of links up there that need linking.  I really need to start earlier, I had more to say.  But hey, there is always tomorrow!

10 Comments
  1. June 10, 2010 3:32 am

    I’m envious of your daughter getting to read LHOTP for the first time. I wish I could read some of my favorites again for the first time. I remember how deeply immersed I was in those books around her age, too. But tell her the trade-off on no tangles with a night-cap is waking up with a sweaty head! :D

    I haven’t read Walls, but now you’re making me add her to my list! You should see how long my books-to-buy list is! It’s STAGGERING!

    And Laini’s Dreamdark world is magical. I have only read the first one and can’t wait to get my hands on #2 and Lips Touch as well.

    • June 10, 2010 9:50 pm

      I am super excited to read Laini’s books. I am on the list at the library for Lips Touch, but it hasn’t come yet. I really think you will like Ms. Wall’s books. The only part that was hard for me is that it is so unbelievable at times, but I really think that it is a good memoir. I heard her speak, and she was so authentic that it helped me hear her authenticity in her book as well. I am just a sheltered, spoiled girl, I guess.

      I am ashamed to admit to you that I never read Laura Ingles Wilder. (Hangs head in shame) I started a few times when I was little, and didn’t like them (!). I think it is because I had been watching the TV series all my little life and LOVED it, so when I got old enough to read the books they were not as fascinating as the program. I was looking forward to reading them to Sarah, but she started without me….

      • June 13, 2010 3:30 am

        I think you should still give them a chance. Instead of starting with Little House in the Big Woods, start with On the Banks of Plum Creek (my 2nd favorite) or Little House on the Prairie and then Little Town on the Prairie and The Long Winter (my favorite). Actually, those 4 are the best, though I do have a soft spot for Farmer Boy.

        • June 13, 2010 11:42 pm

          I will. Sarah wants me to read them rightnow, but I have other intentions for a while…Blink…Half Broke Horses…LAINI…

  2. June 11, 2010 10:23 am

    You have inspired me to head to the library! I’m going to be alone in the house for 3 days next week, and plan to unplug fromt he internet and read read read, I’m so looking forward to it. A reading retreat. thanks for the recommendations. I loved LIW growing up, so much so that my mom sewed me a calico dress and bonnet in 4th grade that i wore to school. I could never interest my girls in them though :( Have a great day!!!

    • June 11, 2010 9:50 pm

      Oh, my gosh, I am so jealous! Three days of a “reading retreat”? Sounds like heaven. I would love to see a picture of your calico dress and bonnet! How funny! Did you ever try reading the first book (Little House in the Deep Woods?) out loud to your kids? Sometimes kids will listen to a book that they don’t necessarily want to read, and then they fall in love with it. They might even be motivated to read the rest of the series on their own. You can get books on tape or CD from the library too, and then just pop it in your car so you listen while you are carting kids around (which in the summer is all the time for me!).

  3. June 14, 2010 9:04 am

    I was obsessed with my Little House books, and I love reading that Sarah is loving them, too! A nightcap – how funny! I guess that was to keep little heads (and I think Ma wore one, too) warm? The best part is that there are so many to read, so she will get a lot of enjoyment out of them. (You really should read them, when you get to a slow spot in your own reading – they should go pretty quickly for you. I really do want to reread them!) And when I was a kid and reading them, we were living in Germany, and I would have given ANYTHING to see the TV show. I remember longing to see it! And I liked On the Banks of Plum Creek the best, it was one I read over and over. Then the next-to-last one and The First Four Years.

    Did you notice I found the Larry McMurty memoir on my book spree in Texas? I was SO excited to get it! The funny thing is, later that night my parents were hanging out with me in my suite and my Dad picked it up and started reading it. I thought he was going to TAKE it, he liked it so much. So I need to find another copy for my Daddy!

    I’m not one for fantasy, so I really have no longing to read Laini’s books…unless you and Liz say I should.

    Yay for books! I nearly died from happiness in Half Price Books. I felt like I barely got to look – but of course came home with a stack of books. My mom offered to take me again, but I told her that for the sake of the budget, I’d better stay away!

    • June 14, 2010 9:19 pm

      I haven’t gotten to the letter about Larry McMurty yet, but I am well on my way. I can’t wait to start on this list, but it is a bit overwhelming. It could take years to get through it.

      I know, I will have to read the little house books sooner or later. Sarah is babbling on and expects me to know what she is talking about, and I really don’t unless it is obvious like the “night cap” wish.

      I love fantasy, and don’t you? I thought you were pumped about True Blood? Was that someone else? Didn’t you read Sookie stackhouse? Anyway, I will report back once I read Laini’s books.
      And, I never knew you lived in Germany! Wow. Another world traveler. I will never catch up!

  4. June 14, 2010 11:51 pm

    Oh, well. I do like reading about vampires and werewolves and demon fighters – so maybe I would like Laini’s fairies. I have read all the Sookie books! And yes, I am SO into True Blood. Oh dear. Love those hot vampires! Except for when I end up with vampire dreams. Those are NOT fun.

    I think it could take years to get through Marten’s list, I just clicked on things that sounded good. I admire this reading plan of yours! And at least most of the things are fairly short, so you won’t be wrapped up with huge books that take weeks to get through.

    We lived in Germany because my dad (who was in the Army) was stationed there. And he was BORN in Germany when his dad was stationed there. We love Germany! I can’t wait to go back one day. Mostly because of the food…beyond YUMMY. So many of my sweet childhood memories took place in Germany so I have a very soft spot for it.

    • June 15, 2010 9:20 pm

      I would love to hear about Germany! I have always lived here, so I don’t have that world knowledge. I have to live vicariously through you.

      I have only read two of the Sookie Stackhouse books. I have the rest that a friend loaned me…you guessed it…sitting on my shelf waiting for me to read them! We don’t have cable, so I have never seen True Blood either. I did love the Twilight series, and now there is a new one out. I don’t have it…yet. I am terrible aren’t I? It is definitely an obsession. I wish I could go to Squam and read, read, read! What a great idea to have a reading focused one, don’t you think? You are going to the one by the ocean, right? You are So. Lucky. xo

Comments are closed.

