Skip to content

My Husband the Genius

June 10, 2010

My husband is brilliant.  I have been using that word a lot haven’t I?  Maybe I am turning British.  Anyway, Jeff = brilliant.  A while ago I came down for breakfast and at my place was a flyer.  This flyer was from the many that accumulate in our home from the children’s backpacks.  The flyer told of a Summer Reading Program that began at age four and continued through adults.  I assumed that Jeff was thinking that we should send our children to this program.  So, I was irritated.  You see, I think that unless your child needs special and extra help with reading, that you should leave them alone.  Our children are doing very well with their reading thankyouverymuch.  Which is what I screeched at him.  He patiently (and a bit condescendingly, to be honest) explained to me that he didn’t put it by my place so I would sign the kids up for it, but so I, myself could take the class.  Now, why would my husband think that I needed to take a class to help my reading skills?  Because I have to teach those reading skills beginning in two short months.  My class began tonight.

It was awesome.

Virtually all of the information was relevant to what I need to be able to teach, and it was within my ever  present, annoying philosophy.  We actually had a book that we were reading for most of the class.  (No text book!!)  The book is Blink by Malcolm Gladwell.  I have never read it, but it is so interesting and relevant to this class.  Blink is about following your intuition and making unconscious decisions, training these intuitions to be accurate and trusting them.  This class’s premise is that if you read faster, you comprehend better.  So, the first order of the day was to learn a way to increase your reading speed, without hindering comprehension.  It is so cool.  I could tell I was reading faster, and it made me nervous because I was worried that I was missing part of the text, but once I relaxed and trusted that I was comprehending, it worked great.  I will definitely be teaching this strategy this fall.  The only down-side to this class?  I have homework.  Boo.

****

Tomorrow is the last day of school.  I am going to Como Zoo with the Kindergartners.  I have to get up at the crack of dawn to make lunches, get the house in order, shower, write thank you cards to teachers…there is a long list here somewhere…  Anyway, you get the picture.  So, I am off to bed to speed read Half Broke Horses, good night…. :)

7 Comments
  1. June 11, 2010 2:26 am

    How completely brilliant! (there, I said it, too!) Both of your husband AND the class. What fun!! And since I just finished one of Gladwell’s books, whom I also think is brilliant, you’ve got me really wanting to read that one as well…happy last day of school! (it’s Karin’s today, too, but poor Martin has another week to go).

    • June 11, 2010 9:41 pm

      Thanks Liz! It turned out to be a great day, even if it looked like it could go either way for a while :) Yay for Karin, and Boo for Martin. What book did you just read by Gladwell? The Tipping Point? I really like Blink.

      • June 12, 2010 2:47 am

        I read The Tipping Point sometime ago and really enjoyed it. The last one was What the Dog Saw, a best-off collection of his essays written for The New Yorker: excellent stuff. I’m definitely a fan!

  2. June 11, 2010 5:57 am

    Wow! That is such a cool idea. I hope you like the class. It sounds really interesting. Stay dry at Como today!!!

    • June 11, 2010 9:43 pm

      It IS really interesting! Your good wishes for a dry day must have made miracles. We had a great trip. Thanks again for covering for me today. Of all people to ask! Ugh.

  3. June 14, 2010 9:09 am

    It’s super fun to say BRILLIANT!

    How sweet of your husband…see, I’m a fast reader, and I often DON’T comprehend. I need this class. I just get wrapped up in the story and I want to find out what happens – NOW!

    • June 14, 2010 9:11 pm

      I think you MUST be comprehending if you need to find out what happens. You are just more BRILLIANT than I am. I am the same way when I am in a good book, I can’t turn the pages fast enough, but I am still s.l.o.w.

Comments are closed.

