Skip to content

Lions and Tigers and Bears, Oh My!

June 11, 2010

My bones ache.  That is how tired I am.  Ouch.  This morning I woke up after a night of tossing and turning.  I have no idea why.  I just couldn’t get comfortable, and I kept waking up.  Nobody was waking me up, I just kept waking up and adjusting.  I was cold, so I got another blanket.  My arm was asleep so I turned over.  The dog was in the way so I moved him.  And, the rain was distracting.

I love sleeping to the tune of the raindrops on the roof.  The lull is perfect and peaceful.  Last night, it was disconcerting.  The last day of school festivities (both the zoo trip and the fun “station party” for Sarah) depends on good weather.  I knew we were going to the zoo rain or shine, but it was thundering.  Do you go to the zoo if there is a thunderstorm?

The answer?  I don’t know.  The rain stopped and we stayed dry at the zoo.  There were a few drops here and there, but not enough to dig out the raincoats that I carted around all day.  The bonus was that the zoo was quiet.  There were plenty of seats to see “Sparky” the sea lion’s show, and we got through to see all of the animals in record time.  At the end, we were ready to be done.  The kids loved it, and so did I .  One of my very good friends has a daughter in the Morning Kindergarten class so we hung out together all day.  It is always more fun to hang with friends at the zoo.  We were so lucky today, almost every exhibit we went to it was feeding time.  Even the Lions and the Tigers!  I have never seen the big cats being fed.  They like their meat more rare than I do.  And, they enjoy the bones.  Kind of like dogs.  I was fascinated.  The other big score?  We got to see the sloth get carried into its exhibit in the morning.  We actually saw its face, and saw it move.  I doubt that will ever happen again.  It turned out to be a great day at the zoo, even on little sleep.

I don’t know if I would like having a field trip on the last day of school, if I taught in my kid’s school.  When I was teaching, the last day of school was a special day to appreciate my class.  We did fun things and had special treats.  Towards the end of the day, we closed out the year with our final Feedback Circle.  I got to say good-bye to each student, and to spend a fun day with them.  Field trips are not prone to closure.  Chaos is more like it.  When Katie and Nicholas announced that kids could go home after the field trip, I assumed I would be keeping Katie and Nicholas with me.  I was wrong.  They wanted to stay for that last 30 minutes of Kindergarten.  I don’t blame them.  I would have wanted to as well.  I waited for them and we played on the playground after the “clapping” send-off for the fifth graders.  At the end of the day, each class lines the hallways from the fifth grade classrooms to the bus doors.  The fifth graders walk through and everyone claps the whole time.  Most fifth graders were crying, and stopped to hug old teachers or the principal.  I don’t really know any fifth graders, but I was having a hard time holding back the tears.  It is such a moving send-off.  The kids played  on the playground and the moms stood around and chatted for about an hour or so after school. It turned out to be a wonderful day.

Schools out for Summer!

God help me.

6 Comments
  1. June 12, 2010 6:26 am

    Chaos is a good thing, in moderation, eh? :D

    • June 12, 2010 7:24 pm

      Everyone needs a little, every once in a while :)

  2. June 12, 2010 7:50 am

    Welcome Summer! It was nice to hang out after school yesterday.

    You have blog? !!! I am still laughing. Sorry.

    • June 12, 2010 7:25 pm

      Like I said, OF ALL PEOPLE! Geez.

      It was really nice hanging out yesterday. I wish I had more days that I could do that!

  3. June 14, 2010 9:14 am

    Your line about the sloth made me laugh! “I doubt that will ever happen again.”

    How sweet is it that your kids wanted to stay for the last few minutes of kindergarten? And reading about the clapping for the fifth graders – who seem so impossibly BIG when you’re in kindergarten and first grade – made ME want to cry.

    • June 14, 2010 9:24 pm

      It was really cool. Such a great send off to all of those kids who will be in middle school next year. I can’t believe that will be my kid so soon! Time really does march on. The days seem so long, but suddenly years have gone by and you have a Third Grader! I am in shock.

      And about the sloth, I have NEVER seen one move at all. Nor have I seen one’s face. It was pretty huge!

Comments are closed.

