Skip to content

The Lamest One Yet

June 13, 2010

Hi.  I have been thinking about you all day.  I have been on this very computer, longing to check your blogs, read Facebook, and to post my daily ramblings that I have committed to post.  Instead, I have been working on my Financial Report for my Girl Scout Troop.  Remember how I was going to bed early last night?  Well, if 1:00 AM is early… then I just made it.  I have exactly eight minutes to get this post up.  My fingers are flying across the keyboard trying to get in enough words to qualify as a post.

Numbers and I are not friends.  He likes to play all kinds of tricks on me, because he knows he can.  You see, he must be concrete sequential.  The opposite of me.  He likes to be precise.  I am more of a ball park kind of girl.  He knew he would have to nail me down with this project.  It was a doozy.  I looked up the Financial Report in my manual last night because Jeff was asleep on the chair that has become his bed and I didn’t want to wake him with the printer.  Wasn’t that nice of me?  To let the banker in the family sleep while I struggled with Mr. Numbers myself.  So, I figured out the report, but my numbers weren’t balancing.  That apparently is not good.  I kept trying and trying because I just wanted the stupid thing to be done, but to no avail, so I went to bed.  At 1:00 AM.  This morning I figured out how to make it balance.  Not necessarily the legal way, but the numbers were right on.  Mr. Numbers had a problem with that, so I had to start over.  I finally figured it out, only to download the form to print and find out that it was an entirely different form, so I had to start over again.  You see why Mr. Numbers is not my friend?  I just finished.  It is 11:59.  I need to press publish.  Goodnight.

5 Comments
  1. June 14, 2010 5:07 am

    LMAO! I am laughing because I am the same way with numbers YET I am an accountant. I feel your pain.

    • June 14, 2010 7:55 pm

      Ummm, Carly? How do you do that “accountant” thing without sticking sharp objects in your eyeballs? I couldn’t do what I did over the weekend for my job. NO. Nononono.

  2. June 14, 2010 7:25 am

    I would have woken him up! I THOUGHT you must have been up awfully late when I saw your comment come in this morning on my post!

    • June 14, 2010 7:57 pm

      Ok. Liz. Help. Did BP write about this before? I couldn’t find her post, but I think she did. I feel awful!

      • June 16, 2010 1:50 am

        I don’t think so. I don’t think I’ve read anything about a Mr Numbers before. Stop worrying!

Comments are closed.

