Skip to content

Summer and Strawberries

June 15, 2010

On Sunday we went strawberry picking.  It is one of my favorite parts of summer.  The red ruby gems glistening in the sunshine, or if you live in Minnesota, just glistening.  There has been very little sun lately, but many raindrops.  We picked about 34 pounds of strawberries.  Three of these boxes (pictured above).  Jeff froze a whole bunch for smoothies and then he made two different batches of ice cream:  strawberry coconut cream and just regular strawberry.  We have enjoyed strawberry bread and strawberry shortcake, and the kids have been greedy, eating the strawberries right out of the box.  There are no more to be had, and I can hardly believe it.  Forty-eight hours and the strawberries are GONE.  I guess we will be going picking again in the very near future.

In other exciting news, Nicholas had a baseball game tonight.  We ate the final strawberry shortcake when we got home.  Sarah got whipped cream in her hair (as usual), and when she was trying to look for it she noticed that she had freckles on her shoulder.  She then preceded to show us the freckles.  Jeff told her to cover up her shoulder, and looked at me like I am raising her to be a harlot.  Then Nicholas chimed in, “Well, at least she isn’t showing off her circles!”  Jeff, course fell off his chair laughing, and I just shook my head.  It is going to be a long summer.

Speaking of Nicholas, he seems to have an ego the size of the Rocky Mountains.  He walks around mentioning to anyone who will listen that he is the best player on his baseball team, and then begins to list off what is wrong with the other players.  I feel the need to knock him down a few notches.  How do I do that with minimal amount of therapy later in his life?

I finished reading all of the letters that Yann Martel has written to Stephen Harper.  I was pleasantly surprised that one of the books on his list is Charlotte’s Web.  I am reading that to Katie right now.  It is one of my all time favorites.  I have been looking forward to finishing the latest Captain Underpants so we could share it and I could read it again.  I haven’t done my homework for my class yet, so I need to figure out my assignment and read Blink, and then I have Half Broke Horses to finish by next Tuesday, as well.  I feel like the books are standing in line by my side waiting for their turn.  I wish I could bring a book to the ball field, but what good mother would read through their kid’s GAME?  Through a practice, sure, but a GAME?  I don’t think I can do that.

The sun actually came out this evening for a bit, and we got to see a rainbow.  It always feels like a gift to find one shimmering in the clouds.  Katie found the one we saw tonight.  She came and got me from my post to show me.  I am so glad they appreciate the beauty that surrounds them.  I don’t know if I did when I was little.  I missed so much because of that.  The wonder of it all is like the icing on the cake.

10 Comments
  1. June 15, 2010 9:35 pm

    LOL @ “circles”

    Those strawberries look awesome! I have yet to do that. where do you go?

  2. June 16, 2010 1:48 am

    We could eat that many strawberries up in one sitting, too. YUM! They’re so darned expensive here, so we really should go find a place to pick them. And we’re missing the Swedish midsummer celebrations next week since we’ll be in the US, and that’s when strawberries and cream is the star of the show. But we have the 4th of July as a trade-off this year.

    And judging by the amount of “seeing the wonder” that you do now, I’m pretty sure you were the same as a child. You couldn’t have missed that much! :)

    • June 16, 2010 10:08 pm

      My husband really opened my eyes when I started dating him. Before that I didn’t pay attention at all. I think I missed a lot.

      It is a bummer that you will miss the celebrations in Sweden, but the Fourth of July is awesome. However, they don’t serve strawberries and cream… See? Now I am hungry again!

  3. June 16, 2010 9:28 am

    Mmm, those strawberries look luscious! Strawberry season is already over here (cherry season seems to be too… I think it only lasted two days), so I’m a tad jealous. However, huge watermelons are starting to pop up around town, so I can’t be glum for long. My husband doesn’t seem to understand that watermelon counts as a complete meal, breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Maybe this will be my year to educate him? :)

    • June 16, 2010 10:10 pm

      Absolutely. I love watermelon too, but Nicholas is the one who could eat it for all three meals. Every time we go to the store he wants another one!

      • June 17, 2010 5:13 am

        Martin is a big watermelon pig, too. Personally, I’m much more a canteloupe fan. Though I love watermelon TASTE, I don’t really care that much for actual watermelons. I know, I am weird. I’m the same way about bananas: love the taste, meh on the actual fruit.

        • June 17, 2010 7:05 am

          I can’t even smell bananas. Ewww. But my kids and husband love them. They make me “open” them for them and then my fingers smell like bananas. Jeff tries to kiss me after eating them too….ewwwww!

          BTW…I love that you are weird. You are in good company!

  4. Jamie Fisher permalink
    June 16, 2010 11:24 am

    YUM! We (in FL) had that crazy cold weather right at the worst time for our strawberry farmers. I’ve actually forgotten how the whole thing unfolded–maybe they had to harvest early & there were too many available?? Anyway, we ended up getting them at the market (regular supermarket) 3 quart boxes for $5. CAN YOU BELIEVE IT?! One of the farms actually opened up the fields to the public to just pick & take for free! They even provided the boxes!! They preferred that than have the fruit waste–they’re awesome! Wish Farms–you’re cool!!

    • June 16, 2010 10:11 pm

      Oh, my gosh! That is super cool. I have never heard of that happening. I hope you stocked up!

Comments are closed.

