Skip to content

Your Response Requested

June 18, 2010

The curser is mocking me tonight.  Blink, blink, blinking on the blank document that matches my brain at this very moment.  I have things that have been on my mind, but I am not sure how to write about them, or if I want to write about them.  I am trying to use this space for my own stuff, not other people’s stuff.  Sometimes, however, the other people’s stuff make me think about how I look at the world.  This is the place I like to explore that.  But, I am hesitant when it involves someone who may read this blog some day.  Especially someone whom I am close to.

When I began this little space on the vast internet, I had a vision of conversations.  I know that beginning conversations in a blog is a tall order.  But that is still my pie in the sky.  I learn so much from all of the people whose blogs I read, I know, it seems selfish, but I wanted to be able to probe that learning.  Deepen it.  I love to hear different perspectives.  So, I am going to be as generic as I can be as I tell you this story.  I hope I veil it enough to side step any hurt feelings that may arise in the very distant future, if my readership expands.

Tonight we went out to dinner.  The kids came with us.  Sarah was very talkative, as she usually is, and the subject she brought up was how she wants to be a doctor when she grows up.  She was asked what kind of doctor she wanted to be, which she is asked every time she tells someone that she wants to be a doctor.  She has wanted to be a doctor ever since I can remember.  She thinks medical things are cool, while I am barfing in the bathroom.  She loves babies and so she wants to be a “baby doctor.”  I perceive this to be a neonatalogist.  Once this was explained, Sarah beamed, and told the table that she wants to go to Africa and help people there once she is a doctor.  I am going to stop the story there.  There were reactions to this announcement.  I want to hear yours.  What would you have said if she were talking to you?  Reminder:  She is almost nine.  I am curious about your response.

I hope you play along.  I will revisit this tomorrow night.

4 Comments
  1. Jamie Fisher permalink
    June 19, 2010 6:51 am

    When I read this account I thought: “Sheesh, I can’t even believe that she can conceive such a career! Or of needs that exist…anywhere in the world beyond her bedroom!” I would have conveyed my admiration at her goal of being a doctor and of her genuine interest in helping people. I also would have asked what in particular interests her about Africa & the people there (she obviously is aware of something that has touched her), & I would have commended her for being compassionate to the needs of others & for taking a personal interest beyond the level of awareness. I also would have encouraged her to always have big goals & to work towards feeling fulfilled & finding her place in the world. (In other words I think it’s great!) Can’t wait to read other thoughts…& to hopefully find out how the actual conversation went!

    • June 21, 2010 9:33 pm

      If only you would have been to dinner with us!

  2. June 19, 2010 9:08 am

    ditto the above, i think that’s wonderful!

Comments are closed.

