Skip to content

A Love Letter on Father’s Day

June 20, 2010

Dear Jeff,

You have been my “other half” for over twenty years.  Over fifteen of those years were spent together without children.  What started out as a High School crush has blossomed and grown and taken root.  I have known you when you were a hockey star, a management trainee, and a big wig.  I have seen you at your best, and at your worst.  I love you all the time, even when love is the last thing that is on my mind.

I just want to say thank you, today.  I am thankful that you are my husband, but even more thankful that you are my children’s father.  They hit the jackpot with you.  You have taught them how to cook.  I am impatient and usually stressed out in the kitchen, and you are calm, cool and collected.  Each of our children knows how to crack an egg, how to measure ingredients, and how to make pancakes from scratch.  They know this because you cook breakfast.  I do not.  Breakfast when I am in charge is cereal or toast.  Breakfast with you is breakfast.  It is a rare day that you turn down the request to make it for them.

Each of our children can not get enough of you.  And with good reason.  You are their coach in every aspect of the word.  You are in charge of hockey, baseball, softball, tennis, soccer and golf.  You are the one who makes sure they are practicing and polishing their technique.  I am not so into sports.  There would be no practice if you were absent.  Our kid’s “natural talents” become more apparent because of all of the polishing.  They are so lucky.  Many kids don’t have someone to practice with that loves what they are doing, and some don’t have someone to practice with at all.

You are not only a sport-type coach, but also a life coach.  You are always telling the kids little life lessons:  Remember, where do you put money?  (The kids chime, “In the bank!”)  You are quick with a hug and an I love you.  You always say, “You can catch more flies with honey, than with vinegar.”  You always remind them, “What’s going to work?”  (The kids chime, “Teamwork!”)  Many hands make a lighter load.

The kitchen isn’t the only place that you encourage help.  Our children garden with you, paint with you, pick up fallen branches with you…whatever you are doing, you have at least one shadow helping and learning from you along the way.

And, at bedtime, you read to each kid.  You talk with each kid, you spend quality time letting each child know how important they are and how much they are loved.

I am so blessed to have such a wonderful father for my three children.

Happy Father’s Day, I love you so…

PS.  I almost forgot to mention the singing and dancing!  You, my dear, rock their socks off!  xoxo

2 Comments
  1. June 20, 2010 9:37 pm

    That is so sweet!!!

    • June 21, 2010 9:40 pm

      I know….awwwwww. Isn’t that special? He is great though. :)

Comments are closed.

