Skip to content

Silly Softball Through the Ages

June 21, 2010

I had to put my bad attitude on the back burner tonight.  You see, we have to be at the ball fields four nights a week with softball for Katie and baseball for Nicholas.  I complain about it every chance I get.  Dinner needs to be early every night, Jeff tries to make it home, but mostly calls and says to eat without him because he can’t leave as early as he needs to.  We are always rushing to get there, always rushing…finish eating, find your glove, do the dishes, do you have your water bottle?  Get your cleats on!  Did you go potty?  It isn’t much fun.

Tonight was different.  It was the make up night for teams that had been rained out.  We played even though we were rained out, Katie’s coach is hard core.  So, tonight her coach had a “silly softball” potluck/game.  Everyone brought stuff to share.  We had hotdogs/brats and cheeto’s and fruit and desserts.  It was so nice not to do dinner.

After we ate, the siblings/parents played a game against Katie’s team.  I was the photographer.*  The coach made up rules for the sibling/parent team.  The first up to bat, they had to run backwards around the bases, and they had to run the bases backwards.  Next, they had to wear oven mitts to bat and to field for all of the bases.  Third, they had to wear grass skirts, a flowered bikini top, a lei, and flippers while batting.  Fourth they had to golf a golf ball that was rolled to them.  Last, they had to wear shower caps and towels and bat a gauze sponge that was soaked in water.  There were many 4th and 5th grade boys that were playing.  It was so much fun.  Sarah and Nicholas played and complained that it wasn’t fair that they had to do all of these things and Katie’s team didn’t.  Jeff planned on playing, but there wasn’t enough space because of all of the siblings.  I think a good time was had by all.  I enjoyed watching all three of my kids play at the same time, and I think they all enjoyed playing each other.  It was a great night, and I have to admit that we have a great coach.  She may be hard core, but Katie has fun at every game.  That is what is important to me.  And, after tonight, I see why Katie likes softball so much.

*I played softball until I was in junior high.  I sucked.  Really.  Sucked.  A lot.  I played because my friends played, and I started playing because my sister played.  Once I was signed up when I was in Kindergarten, it just became a routine.  I played catcher and right field, because, well, where else would they have put me?  I couldn’t throw the ball or catch the ball.  I also struck out all the time.  It was embarrassing.  I remember that panicky feeling when I had to bat.  Everyone was looking at me.  The pressure…oh, the pressure.  I remember one game, when my then boyfriend was watching me play (that still is mortifying to even type) and I actually hit the ball.  Into the outfield.  That was the first (and last) time I had ever hit the ball well.  I was shockedShocked!  I stopped and watched the ball sail over people’s heads, I am sure my mouth was wide open in surprise.  Then I heard the people around me shouting, “RUN!” So I ran.  When I got back to the bench, my then boyfriend came up to me.  He was laughing.  He said, and I remember this like it happened yesterday, “You should have seen your face when you hit that ball!  It was the funniest thing I have ever seen!”  True.  The shock must have been written all over my face.  So, playing softball is not high on my list of things I enjoy doing.  Even “silly softball.”  I have had enough humiliation with that sport to last a lifetime.  And?  My then boyfriend was in my graduating class.  He still heckles me about my one good hit.  It is a bond we have.

2 Comments
  1. June 22, 2010 4:27 am

    Sounds like a lot of fun!!! I feel the same way on game nights for baseball because they are right at dinner time.

    LOL…your softball experience sounds a lot like mine.

    • June 22, 2010 9:43 pm

      I wish you would have been on my team then. It would have taken some of the pressure off :)

Comments are closed.

