Skip to content

Lips Touch, Three Times

July 6, 2010

Last night, I finished Laini Taylor’s Lips Touch, Three Times, in bed.  As has been the case with her other books, my head is still there.  When I began Lips Touch, it was so different from the Dreamdark books that I wasn’t sure I was going to like it.  It didn’t take too long to suck me in.  This is a book of three short stories, seemingly unrelated.  However, there is an underlying connection between all three.  All three stories explore evil on some level, (with goblins and demons) brushing up against the human world for their own purposes.  I would say that this book is darker than the Dreamdark books.  It is labeled a “teen” book, and I would agree.  A bonus to this book is the illustrations.  Jim Di Bartolo, Laini’s husband, did all of the illustrations in all of her books.  They are exquisite.  Lips touch has drawings at the beginning of each chapter, and makes it feel like a mini graphic novel before the text.

The first story, “Goblin Fruit” was the story that took me the longest to get lost in, but the ending jarred me and is haunting, interesting and familiar (unfortunately).  Even though I wanted the story to go on, I wanted MORE…. I think it was kind of brilliant to end it right there.  I am still puzzling out what happens next.

The second story, “Spicy Little Curses Such as These” slowly encircled me like a large python wrapping itself tighter as the suspension grew.  I loved how this story strung me along and I swooned at the very end of it.  I want to say more, but I don’t want to ruin it for anyone.  Just READ IT.

The third and final story, “Hatchling” was my favorite story.  Complex and horrible–the twists and turns and the changes of perspective are seamless.  As soon as you choose a character to sympathize with another comes along, and wins you over.  You are left feeling their feelings as well.  Incredibly crafted and a lovely read.

I can now say that I highly recommend any and all of Laini Taylor’s books.  She is a wonder of the written word.  I for one can’t wait until her new book comes out.  And, I also can’t wait for another Dreamdark book (Ahem–hint, hint).  I am a faithful reader of her blog Growwings as well, although I rarely comment there.  She writes a lot about her writing process which fascinates me to no end.  She also writes about her life, her art, and her family.  Liz sent me there to read one of Laini’s Sunday Scribblings, and I am so thankful that she did.  Check her out!

2 Comments
  1. July 17, 2010 4:26 pm

    Can you believe that none of the giant bookstores we spent hours in during our sojourn in the US had Silksinger or Lips Touch? I am still bereft, and will have to order them now.

  2. July 21, 2010 7:47 am

    I know! I looked and looked for Laini’s books in big stores and little stores and other states for crying out loud. I finally got them at the library. I will be ordering them so Sarah can read them soon! She is growing up fast, that one.

Comments are closed.

