Skip to content

A Good Morning

July 8, 2010

I am sitting in the early morning sunlight.  The sun is still low in the sky, drenching my hands as I type.  My shadow is sitting next to me, keeping me company.  Today a miracle happened.  Jeff got up to close the window around 5:00, and a voice in my head said, “Get up.”  This has happened before.  I used to listen and follow this direction, because who argues with God?  Well, in May, I began to be a bit argumentative.  And defiant.  So, this voice has been nudging me for about two months to, “Get up.”  Not every day.  Not even only in the morning.  Sometimes it was in somebody else’s blog that the voice spoke.  Sometimes it varied, and tried to dare me into getting up.  But today, even though I argued, I got up.

I am so glad I did.

The morning was cool.  The finger-nail of a moon greeted me fleetingly because the sun was already past the horizon.  The lush green of the landscape bled into everything.  I made the decision to begin right where I left off in May, with running two minutes followed by eight minutes of walking.  I would do four sets.  I really thought I would be crawling on the pavement by the time all was said and done, but it was really nice.  I dare say it felt good.  (But don’t tell God.)  Running up the hills on the way home kind of sucked, but that part always sucks.  It is that part is what actually gets me into shape.  The first half woos me, all beauty and splendor.  The second half kicks my ass.

Today it was worth it.

After my first run up hill, and it is a steep hill that never gets easy, I looked into the woods and there was a fawn laying down watching me.  The doe was close by, and the fawn struggled to stand up and followed its mother looking for breakfast.  I felt like Snow White.  She always has a fawn following her.  They didn’t run away, although they watched to make sure I kept walking.  I wish my head could turn a full 180 degrees so I could have kept watching them.  So graceful, so beautiful.  Another walker was just turning to go down into the woods when I came out, and I gave her the heads up, I hope that she saw them too.  A gift.  Maybe a reward?  I am believing it was.  Positive reinforcement at its finest.

After my second run up hill, just a little hill, but it is toward the end of my loop, so it too, kicks my ass from time to time, I saw none other than the Fantastic Mr. Fox.  He was across the street from me trotting down the sidewalk, toward the woods.  He stopped as I passed him and I said, “Good morning Mr. Fox,” right out loud.  He looked at me, and I swear he nodded, then he kept on trotting down the sidewalk.  Two gifts.  A stellar day already.

Not to mention, I feel good.  I hate it when I am proven wrong.

8 Comments
  1. July 8, 2010 7:00 am

    I would say that you were blessed! Those are the things to keep tucked in the “Always Remember” folder in your brain. I’ve been wanting to get up early, too, but obviously not enough to actually do it! Truth be told, I actually don’t wake up until the boys stir…because we sleep in the same bed. (That all started innocently enough, but now it’s kind of a problem.) I always say that I’ll jog/walk after they go to sleep. Leaving stuff to the end of the day isn’t really the wisest plan, hm? So congrats for doing the right thing for yourself today!! I’m glad you were rewarded so abundantly!! XO

    • July 11, 2010 11:46 pm

      Oh, thanks Jamie! Today I saw the fawn again, I think. It was through the trees, but it looked pretty small. I also saw a daddy long legs and heard the most beautiful song from some bird that eluded me. I really do like getting out and going down in the woods. It is the running part and the getting up early part that deter me. I could NEVER run at night. I find it hard to run in late morning. The 5 AM hour is best for me.

  2. July 8, 2010 3:12 pm

    great job!

    • July 21, 2010 7:50 am

      Thanks Tricia! Now, if I can just keep it going!

  3. July 17, 2010 4:40 pm

    Please come kick me in the butt with that motivation of yours. Signed, desperate in Sweden!

    • July 21, 2010 7:49 am

      Yeah. That motivation? It is elusive. It left about a week ago, and I haven’t seen it since. I am looking in the closets and under the bed, I will let you know if I find it.

  4. August 4, 2010 9:30 am

    When I get that nudge at 5:00 a.m., I usually attribute it to early-morning delusion and/or insanity… but I never regret getting up. Those rare occasions that I do, that is. :)

    • August 5, 2010 10:27 pm

      Yes. I got up a few more times (Like maybe two) before the drug of sleep wooed me back into it’s clutches. I have yet to begin again, but I am determined that one of these days I will get back my mojo and kick some serious lazy ass out of bed!

Comments are closed.

