Skip to content

Blather: To talk long-windedly without making much sense.

July 30, 2010

Hello, my very neglected blog.  I feel the pull to visit here and write something profound, but I have nothing profound.  Just me, working like crazy.  I have been obsessed with lesson planning, and figuring all of this out.  I have nothing interesting or even new to say about it, so I will just say that I have planned my first week of classes, and the homework to go with it.  I may be giving too much homework.  I am mildly worried about that, but not enough to cut it down.  It is more guilt than anything.  I haven’t started planning with the textbook yet, and so I have been having a lot of fun figuring it all out.

My children have been neglected this week as well.  They have been left to explore the great outdoors (in our yard) when forced, or to wallow in front of the TV.  I have outlawed Wii.  They all had one playdate at friend’s houses, and we went to a local park to meet friends one day.  Otherwise they bickered between themselves and drove me crazy all week long.  Having your own agenda does not mesh with having children.  They don’t get it.  Today was not as bad as earlier this week.  They may be learning how to entertain themselves, but I am afraid that today I gave up and let the TV stay on most of the day.  They were building houses with playing cards while they watched, and for a time the TV wasn’t on, because I was building with them.  They were impressed with my skill!  I haven’t done that in a long time.  I remember learning how at my grandparent’s house.

The laundry is in need of immediate attention, but I am extremely talented in ignoring it.  So, I am still ignoring it.  Good thing Jeff does it.  We would be wearing brown grocery bags by now if he didn’t.  I also really need to clean out the kid’s rooms.  Clothes need to be rotated out that don’t fit anymore, and the new clothes need to be rotated in.  I hate that job even more than laundry, although it is all in the same vein.  Not to mention the garbage that has collected in the corners of the girl’s rooms.  I really need to go through it all and throw it away, even though they won’t want me to.  I really don’t know what is attractive about saving EVERYTHING.  Even broken things.  I am a hoarder in some respects, but if it is broken and can’t be fixed?  THROW IT!  I know it will feel so good when I am done, but UGH.  Yuck.  I think it is not only the actually job, but that I am trapped up in their rooms as well.  No music or TV to keep me company.  The basement needs to get done too.  Ugh.

I guess that is where my brain is right now.  Only on the tasks that need doing.  School work or house work.  I, of course, choose school.  Way more fun right now.  I just can’t think about the first day of school, because then I feel like I am going to be sick.

Tomorrow, I am going to Yoga.  I have had to miss the past two weeks, and tomorrow is the last day of the session.  I am sad that it is ending.  I love Yoga.  Maybe tomorrow I will have something profound to share.  Probably not, but I won’t come and blather on about menial tasks.  That is a promise.

4 Comments
  1. July 31, 2010 2:45 am

    I am in the exact same mode…wanting to write, having nothing to say, not writing. Have done Karin’s closet (sort of), but none of the other very neglected ones. Anders did laundry this week since he was still on vacation but as of Monday, both of us are back at work, and the kids are still on vacay for 3 more week: aaaugh!

    I don’t think you blather, by the way, I love feeling like we’re on the same page, even though you are in such a fun place with a new job to gear up for and I’m just mooching along.

    • August 1, 2010 11:14 pm

      I love the word mooching. Mooching along. Exactly how I have felt. Although, with the job related stuff, I feel like I am swimming. Swimming in a sea of stuff that needs to be ordered and written and read and organized and…. you see what I mean. I still haven’t done any laundry.

  2. July 31, 2010 8:48 pm

    “Clothes need to be rotated out that don’t fit anymore.” I groaned out loud when I read that…because that’s on my “IMPORTANT” list. It’s been there since March, so I wonder how “important” it really is. Apparently not very. BUT I did bring (*did I tell you that we’re staying at my in-laws’ house while Ray recovers from his hip replacement?) all of Curtis’ clothes with me to go through. He’s the last to be done, then it’s consignment shop or donate. Isn’t it amazing how busybusybusybusy we are yet don’t feel we have anything important to say about it all?! Thank you for sharing, nonetheless!! It’s a bit of your life & I appreciate it! Hope the kids’ week goes well–fun & lovin’! :)

    • August 1, 2010 11:16 pm

      I laughed out loud when I read that you have had the rotating clothes on your list since March! That is TOTALLY ME! At least you have a good excuse! How is Ray doing?

Comments are closed.

