Skip to content

Beginning the August “Break”

August 1, 2010

Welcome to August!

There is something that I have been meaning to tell you…  Jamie has a blog!    It is called:  A Mostly Smart Girl.  She and I both commented on Christina’s blog regularly and then bless her heart, she clicked right over here to read mine.  I have been harassing encouraging her to start a blog for a while, and she finally did.  (Peer pressure works!)  Please click on over to give her some love.  And, leave her a comment while you are at it.  I know how much I love a comment, even if it is just one little sentence.  It makes me feel like someone is actually out there.  So go for it!  Leave your mark for her!  She will appreciate it.

So, the harassment encouragement goes both ways.  I got an email this morning from Jamie asking if I was going to participate in “The August Break.” I don’t normally read Susannah Conway’s blog, but I clicked on over there, and thought, “Why not?” And then the thinking part of my brain kicked in:  Why Not? Well, maybe because you are starting a new job this month?  After NINE YEARS of being home with kids?  Your brain is mush the way it is?  You have about  547,391 books to read and a class to create?” But then this other part of my brain argued, “That is precisely why you should.  You are already neglecting your blog.  This is an easy, low pressure way of posting daily.  It can just be one picture.  Come on!  That is not a lot!” Thinking Brain:  “You know you will post more than one picture!  You will think you have to do another NaBloPoMo.  Do you think we were all born yesterday?” Other Part of Brain:  “You have a point.  But what if you just try it?  No pressure.  Really.” Thinking Brain:  “I will believe it when I see it.” Well, you can see who won the battle.  The Thinking Brain is shaking it’s part of my head and slowly walking away muttering.  We shall see how it goes.  And, what about you?  I think you should do it with me!  It would be fun.  Christina and Jamie are doing it, I am doing it… that is almost everyone!  Come on, you know you want to.

Today is a cloudy day.  Thick clouds in spots and thin in others.  I just caught a bumble bee in my basement to let go in our garden, and when I wandered into our garden to get to the bee balm, it began to sprinkle.

Jeff took the kids fishing this morning.  He rented a boat and packed up the snacks.  I had the whole morning to read my book:  Strategies That Work by Stephanie Harvey and Anne Goudvis.  I have been having a difficult time reading it.  It is a very dense text book about Reading Comprehension Strategies.  In order to make any headway, I need to pay attention.  If I get interrupted, I have to figure out where my brain was when I left off.  It had taken me about a week to read two chapters.  While the rest of my family was gone, I got two more chapters done.  The miracles of non-interrupted time.

Sarah with the blue lips

Katie with Franklin

Nicholas with the chocolate on his chin

They all had so much fun.  And they all got treats!  No fish big enough to eat for dinner though.  They are so lucky to have such a great dad.  And I am lucky that I have such a great husband!

Now, who is in for the August “Break?”

8 Comments
  1. August 1, 2010 3:12 pm

    O! Those freckledy kids! Cutie pies!

    • August 1, 2010 11:17 pm

      They are kinda cute, but I am partial. I happen to love the blue lips the most.

  2. August 1, 2010 11:04 pm

    See…now you will have a record of this CRAZY month, instead of just looking back and going, “Where did August go?” Thanks for encouraging me to do this, too. I love your sweet kiddos’ faces. And YAY for helpful husbands who get kids out of the house so you can get your stuff done. Thomas is going for a weekend at my parents’ THIS weekend (coming up) and I don’t know what I’m going do! With a quiet house!

    • August 1, 2010 11:20 pm

      A whole weekend–You are so lucky! I wish my parents would do that! But, I guess it is different to take one kid verses three. I think you will probably figure out what to do, I can think of a couple things right off the bat: Sleep? Play your music as loud as you want? Read your book? Write in your writer’s notebook? Go out with friends, or just with your husband? Make some artsy thing….okay that should get you started.

  3. August 2, 2010 7:39 am

    YAAAAY! Meg! So happy you’re doing this!

    (Also: LOVE your kiddos freckles. I’ve always had a crush on freckles.)

    • August 2, 2010 8:41 pm

      We are all just following your lead Christina. You are the inspiration :) Plus, it is super fun that a whole bunch of people are doing it. It is a nice communal feeling isn’t it?

  4. August 2, 2010 10:43 am

    i looked forward to your posts in june, and look forward to your pics this month. my camera is broken and i’ll have to beg my 10 year old to borrow hers, but i’m going to do my best!

    • August 2, 2010 8:41 pm

      I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

Comments are closed.

