Skip to content

Backyard Bliss

August 4, 2010

What a nice sunny day we had today.  It was still so hot outside this morning that it felt like your skin might melt right off your face if you stayed out for too long.  This evening, the humidity began to dissipate a bit, which was nice.  The kids got some outside time, and I was glad of that.  It is hard to make them go out and play when it is so miserable outside.

I had a luncheon with my new Reading Department colleagues this afternoon.  It was mostly social, but when a bunch of teachers get together, there is some shop-talk that happens.  It was a very nice lunch.  I am obsessing now about if I talked too much, or not enough, or made a good impression or a bad impression.  It is so hard for me to gauge.  I don’t think anybody knew anybody well.  People are all working different hours, so it is hard to get to know everyone.  That is a weird dynamic to have in a work place.  In my elementary school, the staff was so much like a family.  We all knew each other so well, and we spent so much time together.  I am sure I will get to know people who have similar hours that I have, once the school year is underway.

Tomorrow, I think we have an open schedule.  First thing:  Clean up this house!  It is getting to be a bit junky around the edges.  Second thing:  Unless it is storming, go to the beach.  It has been a while.  I am not sure I will bring my camera with me…sand.  Sand and cameras do not mix.  But maybe if I can get a good parking spot, my camera can live in my car, and I can still get some good shots.  This picture thing is kinda fun!  I usually forget my camera, and rely on others to capture the moments.  I still wish I had an iPhone.  Then it would be so easy to capture any moment!

How was your Wednesday?

4 Comments
  1. August 4, 2010 10:26 pm

    Maybe bring your camera, and just take it out once? I know sand and cameras don’t mix, but I’ve taken mine to the beach with no trouble. (Knock on wood!) And yes. You do need an iPhone. (I’m such an enabler!) I haven’t gotten my ‘real’ camera out once for this month – though I should. But you know I love my iPhone camera!

    I love the photo of Sarah carrying the bucket. And Franklin has captured my heart. And I’m sure you made a great first impression with your new coworkers – every one else is probably thinking the same thing tonight! Isn’t it funny? I never worried about myself or how I came across until I became an adult.

    • August 5, 2010 9:14 pm

      I know! I never worried either. And I used to actually feel comfortable speaking my mind. Now, I obsess about it and try to be so careful about the words I choose. Weird.

      No beach pictures today. It was actually too cool to go to the beach. Considering how HOT it has been, it was a welcome change!

  2. August 5, 2010 2:44 pm

    I love all your flowers :) I have put iphone at the top of my birthday wish list. C’mon birthday present fairies!

    • August 5, 2010 9:15 pm

      Oh, I am rooting for you too! Come ON fairies! Liz needs an iphone :) Have I told you too much today that you have beautiful kids… love their pictures!

Comments are closed.

