Skip to content

The Weekend Cruise

August 9, 2010

It is loud in August.  The cicadas sing all day, and the crickets chirp all night.  It is funny how sometimes you don’t even notice the noise.  We had a busy weekend.  We were dog sitting Franklin’s two sisters.  My best friend is their mom.  They were out-of-town this weekend, and we swap dogs during those vacation days.  Franklin stayed at their house when we went to Palm Springs.

Nicholas, Keana, Me, Brita, Franklin (kissing me) and Katie

Look what came in the mail on Friday:

That’s right it is the Squam Art Workshops Journal!  I have dipped into it a bit, but I haven’t sat down with it yet.  If you want one head on over there and order one!  It looks simply gorgeous, and I can’t wait for some leisure time to sink my teeth into it.  Thank you Elizabeth!  You Rock!

Jeff took the kids camping on Friday night, and I had the entire house to myself (except for the three dogs).  I stayed up until 3:00 in the morning, and I did NO WORK.  I was kind of aimless.  I didn’t really want to go to bed at all.  I carried around Breath by Tim Winton with me but never cracked it open.  I also carried around the textbook Strategies That Work that I really, really want to be done with, but never cracked that open either.  I met the campers for breakfast on Saturday morning, and we had a pretty relaxed day.

Sunday, we went on a paddle boat cruise on the Mississippi River.  I thought it was fun, except for the crabby kid which made my husband unhappy.  It was interesting and beautiful.  The view of downtown St. Paul is so lovely, and I got to see where the Minnesota River joins the Mississippi!  Just a little fact:  The Minnesota River originates in Big Stone Lake, the same lake I spoke of in my last post.  Wow.  I must be having a Cliff Clavin moment.

I had dinner with my college girl friends last night, and then took the dogs back to my friend’s house.  Today, ALL THREE kids began day camp! They are gone from 8:30-3:00 all week.  I read my textbook, and bribed myself to keep reading.  Only one more part to go…but I think it is like four chapters.  Ugh.

How has your week started?

6 Comments
  1. August 10, 2010 3:47 am

    Ohhhh I am so glad you enjoyed your night! I think it is a sin to do any sort of work while the kids are gone. You cannont waste precious time like that.

    Your cruise looked like fun!

    • August 10, 2010 8:10 pm

      Ahhh, I love a bad influence! Thanks for that.

  2. August 10, 2010 6:51 am

    You guys seem to have such a great routine–daddy-o gets time with the kids camping, you get time to refresh. I would love a cruise like that–relaxing and Cliff Clavin-y! :)

    • August 10, 2010 8:12 pm

      I know, I am such a nerd. Hopefully not as nerdy as our pal Cliff though :)

      This was the first Daddy/kid camping trip. I am hoping there will be more!

  3. August 10, 2010 9:40 am

    I got my Squam book today too; perfect birthday timing or what?? I love that last photo of the 2 of you :)

    • August 10, 2010 8:12 pm

      Thanks :)

      I sure hope you had a wonderful birthday! I am so glad that you were born!

Comments are closed.

