Skip to content

A deteriorating post from the get go

August 10, 2010

Oh, hello.  Come on in.  Can I get you anything?

I don’t have words to share with you tonight.  At least I don’t feel like I do.  I guess I will just start typing and see where we end up, okay?

I have to say that doing NaBloPoMo in June was really hard.  I was really ready for July to come and take the pressure off.  This August Break thing is different.  I am having fun with it, and I didn’t feel like I was failing because I took the weekend off.  I have also noticed that I am different when I know that I need to write every day.  I live a more writer-ly life.  I pay attention, and I let myself follow where ever something interesting leads.  But mostly it’s about paying attention.  I like this part of writing.  I am one of those people who is oblivious to the surroundings until someone points something out.  I never know how to get places without specific directions.  Jeff always is surprised, “We’ve been there a thousand times,”  he’ll say.  “You always drive,” I retort.

Today is a stormy day.  Clouds and humidity hang in the thick air.  We had a downpour with thunder and lightning about an hour after I dropped the kids off at camp.  They were fine, but it was so dark that I was a bit concerned.  There was no phone call, so I let them be, thank goodness.  They are having such a great time.  The camp songs that I have heard are familiar, and fun for me to join in singing.  I do get into trouble though, they changed some words since I was in the think of it.  It stopped raining, but the sky looked like it could open up at a moment’s notice all day.  Now, as I gaze out my window, the world has that eery green tint.  I am unhappy about that because, of course, it is bed time.  Nothing like a tornado to keep kids up at night.  The thunder has already started, but the rain has not.  I know I have mentioned it before, but storms are not my favorite thing.  Especially when Jeff is at a meeting, and not right here where I can see him.

When I was driving to pick the kids up from camp this afternoon, I saw two deer.  A mother and her fawn.  The fawn still had spots scattered on its back, and was still a miniature of its mother.  I didn’t have my camera with me, or I would have pulled over.  In fact, I was tempted to go home and then go back to take a picture before I went to get the kids.  I would have been so late then, but it is such a gift to get a glimpse of mothers in the wild.

I keep looking out my window.   Yellow tinted neighborhood now.  Yikes.  Franklin is planted firmly on my lap.  He is so scared of storms.  Oh, and now we have rain….  Hmmm.  Still yellow.

Anyway, the deer was cool.  I love noticing things like that.  Yesterday, I saw the fantastic Mr. Fox strolling down the sidewalk too.  And now today I am witnessing the neighborhood change colors in front of my eyes, now it is kind of pink.  I may be too distracted to write at the moment.  So, I think this is where my post will end.

How are you with storms?

6 Comments
  1. August 11, 2010 6:23 am

    I love storms…except driving in them. We’ve lived in FL for 8 years. Sometimes I get sick of so MUCH sun all the time. Yeah, I know, we’re the “Sunshine State.” Now mind you when we have three days of drear & rain I am doing a sundance outside to bring the sun back. Sigh… Maybe I just complain! We’re having an unexpected dark morning with rain today. The things I’ve learned about FL rain (I’m from Western NY–rain is different there–if it rains, it rains a-l-l day) are: it can & does rain on one side of a street but not the other; if you’re at the beach when rain moves in you can see it progressing toward you like a wall with a specific starting point; it can pour, monsoon…and be over & sunny in 20 minutes.

    • August 11, 2010 8:21 pm

      That is sort of how it was yesterday afternoon, there was dark clouds, rain, thunder/lightning and then it got sunny for the rest of the day. Last night was just a lot of grumbling, and a few loud cracks. No severe weather, but I was glad when Jeff was home.

  2. August 11, 2010 8:04 am

    I love rain, and thunderstorms. Mostly when I can be home, of course, and be safe and cozy inside. I don’t freak out over tornadoes, because then I would live in a state of constant anxiety, especially in the spring. Now, when Thomas was a little baby and I had to go to work two nights a week, I got very nervous over bad weather. I kept picturing my baby getting sucked up by a tornado. This may or may not have had something to do with the night that a tornado passed very close to our duplex. Thomas was asleep in his carseat, in the bedroom with us. Our front door blew open! And our closet door slammed shut! We immediately ran to the closet, with the baby in the carseat.

    Now, we live very close to a tornado siren, so I don’t worry about things until I hear it.

    I hope you got some sleep, poor thing! And yes, I am loving August Break because I can take a day off but not feel like I’ve FAILED. And I just adore having a reason to take pictures, because I love taking pictures.

    • August 11, 2010 8:23 pm

      Oh, my gosh! Your door flew open? I would have lost my lunch. I slept just fine, once I checked the weather maps :) Thanks though, for feeling sorry for me.

  3. August 11, 2010 12:15 pm

    I love storms. I miss them, the really good rattle-bang ones like we used to have in the Midwest. It’s pretty rare that we get good thunderstorms here, sadly. When I was a child and we lived in Nebraska, my dad would take us up on the roof to watch the tornados go by on the horizon: freaky!! They were far away, though, so don’t hyperventilate at the thought.

    And even if I’m only half-assedly doing August Break, I’m loving the great stuff from the rest of you lovelies!

    • August 11, 2010 8:28 pm

      Okay, really? Watched the tornadoes to by on the horizon???? *hyperventilating*

      Nicholas is obsessed with tornadoes right now. He has two non fiction books that he is pouring over, and he is the one who alerted me to the “green” look outside.

      I don’t like the good rattle-bang! I like the low rumbling/grumbling thunder. The kind that you can almost ignore, but when you don’t it is cool. My dog doesn’t shake until we have one big bang, and then he freaks out. That happened last night after it had been rumbling for about an hour. Then I was on doggy duty trying to calm him down.

      And, I LOVE that you are doing the August Break. It isn’t half-assed at all, remember? There are no rules!

Comments are closed.

