Skip to content

Drifting

August 13, 2010

Well.  I am better today.  Still a bit down in the dumps about the whole J.O.B. thing, but better.  I did a bunch of cleaning today in preparation for dinner guests.  I was totally cursing myself for inviting them, because I didn’t want to clean today.  I am so very glad that I did though.  The friends that came over were two people who I used to teach with all those years ago when I taught little people.  We hadn’t seen them in five years or so, and then we ran into them at an ice cream shop a couple of weeks ago when Jeff and I had a date night.  We chatted then, and I told them they had to come for dinner so we could catch up.  They brought their two kids and our kids got along swimmingly.  Sarah told Jeff that it “was like having two Nicholases'” running around.  Their little boy is the same age as Katie and Nicholas, and their little girl is four.  Sarah and Katie took it upon themselves to mother her for the evening.  Which worked out great, so we could talk.  I didn’t fuss much, just burgers/hotdogs, mac & cheese, baked beans, corn on the cob, watermelon, chips/salsa/hot dip/guacamole/cheese puffs, pickles, you know summer food.  Easy peasy.

Sarah felt very hot when I put her to bed, so I think we are scrapping our trip to see my Grandma this weekend.  Her birthday was yesterday.  She turned 99 years old.  Wow.  I am actually a bit disappointed, but more so relieved.  Now I will have some time to sort through some stuff.

I am off to bed now… early for me, but I can’t stop yawning.

Tell me one GREAT thing that happened to you today.  I already told you mine!

2 Comments
  1. August 14, 2010 1:36 am

    Yesterday, Martin and I went out at 10:30 with blankets and pillows (mine was extra thick because it was already damp) and laid on the trampoline for an hour and a half staring at the stars and oohing every time we saw a shooting one. And we saw a LOT. SO COOL.

    (Karin was at soccer camp).

    • August 15, 2010 9:15 pm

      I wish I could have been there with you. It sounds like it was absolutely perfect. I hope you made a bunch of wishes and I hope they all come true :) xo

Comments are closed.

