Skip to content

An End, and A Beginning

August 15, 2010

Well.  Tomorrow is the big day.  Today was the last day of being a Stay At Home Mom.  My job of the last nine years.  Although I won’t have students until a week from tomorrow, I have meetings all week.  Tomorrow is the new faculty orientation.  I have a list of questions to get answered.  I am experiencing so may emotions tonight, I am just kind of calm.  I have worked all weekend, and I have a pretty good handle on what I am teaching next week.  I have lots of papers to hand in to get copied tomorrow.  I sure hope I will be able to get them on Friday.  I just want everything in my possession before next Monday.

I haven’t really thought about this new shift, the new beginning.  Not really.  I suppose the shift started happening last February when I actually got hired.  My brain has been buzzing around it for so long, that it is second nature.  I am sure reality will hit tomorrow.  I am so nervous, yet I am excited, and I am kind of indifferent as well.  I have been to workshop weeks before.  They are usually irritating.  I have spent many a workshop week longing to be working in my classroom.  This is a lot different than that, though.  I don’t have a “classroom.”  I don’t have to do any bulletin boards, or window boxes.  I don’t have to label any notebooks, or folders.  I don’t have to make name tags or bus schedules.  I just have to write lesson plans.  That is usually the last thing on my list!  Everything else had to be done first, so visually the room was ready for the kids.  Not this time.

I am off to bed.  I need a good night’s sleep.  Tomorrow will be an exhausting day, because of my nerves if nothing else.

Hope your weekend was lovely, and Happy Monday!

8 Comments
  1. August 15, 2010 10:17 pm

    Wow…I knew you’ve been a SAHM but I hadn’t thought about this huge change for you. Yikes. My chest got kind of tight for you as I read that post. Have you been slowly absorbing and preparing for “this day”? I hope that everything starts off very well for your family this school year! Smooth, peaceful, organized, calm, cooperative–whoosh–sending intentions for all that your way! :)

    • August 16, 2010 9:18 pm

      Thanks Jamie! So far so good, but I am still scrambling for child care for next week and the week after!

  2. August 16, 2010 5:10 am

    Thinking of you today!! I hope the transition goes smoothly for you, though I’m sure there will be SOME bobbles, I know you can handle it!

    Exciting and adventurous and anxiety-making all at once…a big change after 9 years. :) NINE years!! That’s insane, woman! :D I could barely handle THREE. Hee!

    And what the heck did you put on that bread???

    • August 16, 2010 9:23 pm

      Ah, the bread. Cool isn’t it? You just take white bread. That is your canvas. Then you pour milk in some jars, and add food coloring. Take a paint brush (actually, one for each color) and paint the bread. Next, toast the bread and butter as usual. The colors get so bright and vibrant. And it is FUN!

      And, yes NINE years. I am used to being able to stay in my pajamas for the morning. Not anymore. It was a good day. LOTS of information. I am completely overloaded right now.

  3. August 16, 2010 4:06 pm

    Good luck!!!!! I know the exact emotions you are feeling. I went through the same thing last year. I can’t wait to hear about your day!

    • August 16, 2010 9:24 pm

      Thanks Carly! I don’t even know where to start with my day. It was LONG. There was SO MUCH information. My head is swimming. I can’t even write a post yet, I don’t know what to say!

  4. August 16, 2010 10:08 pm

    thinking of you!

Comments are closed.

