Skip to content

So Far, So Good!

August 17, 2010

I should be in bed, I am exhausted.  But I just wanted to come and say hi.  Thank you to everyone who wished me well on my first day as a working woman.  There was so much information yesterday, that I don’t remember anything.  Just fragments that randomly pop into my head.

It started off with Strategic Plan and Mission Statements and blah-de-blah.  Then we got in groups and we were given a scenario of a negative event that happened in your classroom, and the groups were to figure out what to do about it.  This was helpful.  It gave me a bit of insight of some of the complications that arise while teaching college-aged students.  We went on a scavenger hunt, we tried out some new techie toys, we got started in our online classroom web pages, and we were taught how to use the teaching equipment that is in every classroom.  And that is just what I remember.  I know I am missing a lot.

I also found out yesterday that there was a computer lab training time this morning.  I, of course, didn’t know about it, so I scrambled around and found out at 6:30 this morning that I had a baby sitter so I could go.  I am so glad I was able to go.  I got my online classroom homepage set up how I want it.  I asked all the questions that I had.  I was taught how I could transfer the phone so my number would ring in the office.  It was awesome!  Now, if I could only get my badge so I could get into my office.

This afternoon another professor that works at a different community college came over so I could do show and tell for her.  I went over all of my lesson plans for next week and a bit beyond and she seemed to be okay with it.  So, YAY!  I have my plans done for next week.  She also asked if she could come observe me teaching, and I said that she was welcome at any time, but, Oh. My.  Gosh.  Really?  That makes my blood pressure rise a few notches!  I know it will be good for me though.  My big task for now is to do a long-range plan for the semester, and then to start to figure out how to assign point to assignments.  I have no idea how to do that.  So.  Yeah.  And, Yikes.

Tomorrow I am in workshops all day.  My kids are being shuffled from place to place, but will have someone watching them the whole time.  (Whew!)  I hope to stop back here and give you all an update.  You are on the edge of your seat, right?

Hope your week has started off GREAT!  xoxo

8 Comments
  1. August 18, 2010 4:42 am

    So cool! There’s always so much to learn and remember and think about with a new job. It always takes much longer than you think to get to the point where you feel like you know where everything is and who to ask for things and how to find the info you need. You sound like you will manage just fine! :)

    • August 22, 2010 10:03 pm

      You are so right Liz. I am always feeling pretty good until people start talking about the school procedure for things. Then, obviously, I am clueless. I hate that.

  2. August 19, 2010 6:30 am

    Sounds overwhelming and amazing! I am giggling at the thought of the “challenges” of teaching college aged students. I remember my college experience, and we were rowdy bunch. I am quite sure we acted like high schoolers many a time instead of mature college students! (At least in the music classes – I know I tried to represent my major well when I made it outside the music building!) Hang in there! It will all start to make sense, like Liz said…

    • August 22, 2010 10:05 pm

      Isn’t that what made college fun? All those shananigans. our scenarios were more security breeches and the Privacy Laws, and exciting things like that.

  3. August 19, 2010 10:55 am

    Wow, this is quite the week for you! Are your kiddos not back in school yet? I’m sure the babysitter scramble isn’t doing much to soothe your nerves, but I bet you’ll do FANTASTIC in the classroom next week. You won’t be able to help it with all this prep work you’ve put in! :)

    • August 22, 2010 10:07 pm

      My kids don’t start school until after Labor Day. So, maybe September 7th? Once they are in school, and we reach “routine” status we are golden.

  4. August 19, 2010 7:39 pm

    So glad things are going well!! Home page for your classroom?! Yikes, college has changed since I was in college 174 years ago! What a busy time for you. It will smooth out once everyone is in their routine. It sounds like your kids are pretty flexible, too. Good team! :)

    • August 22, 2010 10:08 pm

      They have been extremely flexible. Thank goodness. Although, Sarah isn’t sold on this whole working mom thing. She isn’t so good with change.

Comments are closed.

