Skip to content

T’was the night before school starts…

August 22, 2010

T’was the night before school starts, when all through the house,

There was a crazed woman shouting at her poor, sweet, shy spouse.

The papers were sorted, the lesson plans done,

The homework assignments, so loooooong and no fun.

Goodbye to summer vacation I thought

Goodbye to freedom, I was used to a lot.

That is as much as I can do for tonight.  I am so tired that I can hardly keep my eyes open.  We have had a wonderful weekend.  The kids slept over at Jeff’s parent’s house last night, so we went out for dinner and to some fine drinking establishments in Northeast Minneapolis.  We also went for a walk down by the Mississippi River’s lock and dam.  It was beautiful.  Jeff took pictures, but I didn’t have my camera.  I was hoping he would do a little guest post.  Let me ask him one more time….

But.  No.  He still refuses.  Brat.   Humbug.

We went to a St. Paul Saints baseball game today.  It is an outdoor ball park, and it was 91 degrees, humid, and Sunny, with a capital “s.”  We left early because it was so miserable.  But then we got to go out for ice cream!  That made all the sweating worth it!

I think I am ready for tomorrow.  I am totally over-planned.  And freaking out.  I know that it is the first five minutes that I have to fear, and then I will be fine.  I hope.  Maybe.  I am assigning way too much homework, but I am too rigid to change it now.  I am worried that people are going to drop my class because of it.  I mean, it seems like a lot, but it really is just surveys, mostly.  Except for the paper.  But, they have two nights to do it.  I just hope I can calm them down about it, and make them see that it is totally do-able.  Really.  It is.  I hope.  I am kind of second guessing myself right now.

I have everything sorted and collated and stapled.  I have back-up activities, and activities that can be skipped depending on time.  I don’t know how it will go, but nobody can say that I am not prepared!  I spent some quality time at Office Depot today, perusing the isles.  I love Office supplies.  I always have.  When I was little and my mom would bring me to Kins-Mor drug she could always find me in the school supplies isle.  I could usually get a brand-new notebook and pen if I was good.  Possibly some colored construction paper if it was a stellar day, or one of those label maker things that they used to make that had the wheel with the letters that you would turn to write your name.  I bought some plastic boxes, because I love them, and a flash drive, and a legal pad.  Some other stuff too, but manila folders aren’t as exciting as new plastic boxes.  With lids.  That snap shut.  Four of them.  In different sizes.  Yes.

I still have to make some charts and write a rubric.  I don’t want to do that, I would rather go to bed, or at the very least watch bad TV and crochet.  But, I need to get done so the morning is just about deciding what to wear, showering and throwing up because I am going to be a bundle of nerves.

Prayers that I don’t make a complete fool out of myself would be appreciated!

Thank you.

12 Comments
  1. August 23, 2010 7:56 am

    thinking of you!!!

  2. August 23, 2010 12:06 pm

    You will be great & you’ll have a wonderful day! I absolutely know it!! I wish I lived closer–I’d drop off a Crock Pot dinner & a bottle of wine for your first day! {big hug}

    • August 27, 2010 4:58 pm

      That dinner and wine was such a nice thought! Big hugs back at you!

  3. August 23, 2010 1:16 pm

    You are going to be just FINE. You’re so prepared! And don’t sweat the homework. They can handle it.

    • August 27, 2010 4:58 pm

      Thanks for the vote of confidence! I was prepared, but in the wrong area!

  4. August 25, 2010 5:23 pm

    Just checking in to see how your week is going. Hopefully all the throwing up was limited to Monday morning… BEFORE arriving in the classroom! :) Hugs and an extra dose of You Can Do It from across the sea.

    • August 25, 2010 10:14 pm

      Wow Bethany~

      I really needed this tonight. One more day of teaching this week and then I have a PACKED weekend with a baby shower that I am hosting, a wedding and Jeff’s Birthday. I need a vacation already!

      Thanks for the extra dose. Hugs right back at you :)

      Love,

      Meg

      • August 27, 2010 4:57 pm

        I thought I emailed this to you! I meant to at least. Hope you have seen it! xo!

  5. August 27, 2010 5:35 am

    oh Megsie– loved the beginning poem– and hope the fear/stress is soon behind you. Sometimes the anticipation of something is far more of a struggle than actually doing it. You will be GREAT. You are GOOD. Remember to stop and take 3 deep slow breaths– it can change everything– and I am sending you big love and support– you will be a terrific teacher—terrific. Release the fear– wishing you to be wrapped in GOOD feelings.

    • August 27, 2010 4:23 pm

      I really wanted to go through the whole poem, but I ran out of steam. The whole GREAT and GOOD thing is debatable at this point. I certainly haven’t felt that way. I am going to write myself a note about the three deep breaths and stick it to my monitor when I am teaching. I don’t know if it is fear anymore, but more frustration. I don’t like feeling *out of control.*

      Thank you for your love filled comment. It is always such a huge comfort when you weigh in.

Comments are closed.

