Skip to content

A Random String of Thoughts

October 20, 2010

It is early, and everyone, including Jeff, is in bed.  I feel like this time is a present wrapped in beautiful wrapping topped with an elegant bow.  Usually, by the time I am on my own it is late and I am so tired that I can hardly see straight.  Tonight, I am still seeing just fine, thank you.

Today was another good day.  I enjoy my students.  Their presentations were due this week for their “expert project.”  They had to write a paper about their own expertise, and the present to the class.  It was part of the “main idea” instruction.  I was trying my hardest to make it engaging and authentic.  I really enjoyed reading their papers and hearing them talk about what they loved.  Some topics were very simplistic, like one who was an expert in how to play Blackjack.  Others were more complex, like one who spoke eloquently about how to be a good leader.  Some were long others short.  Some of my students were very nervous, but most were surprisingly confident.  Two didn’t show up to present or to turn in their papers.  That was the only thing that was disappointing.  I also had some time this morning to carefully plan my lesson and create a worksheet to go along with it.  The bonus was I actually also had time to teach it!  All of the stars aligned.  I have been trying so hard to bring in some instruction for reading strategies to go along with the reading “skills” that I am required to teach.   The “Determining Importance” strategy goes very nicely with finding the main idea.  Inference also goes with it.  And summarizing and synthesizing.  I decided to begin with Determining Importance.  I am excited to see how they do on the worksheet, and even more excited to hear how they liked it.  I predict some grumbling because it will actually make them think, and write down their thinking.  They don’t like to have to think so much.  Yet, I keep making them!  [Insert evil laugh.]

It is finally feeling like autumn.  With temperatures in the forties in the morning and it only warming up to the mid fifties to sixty as the high.  The trees have lost their luster, and most of the leaves have floated to the ground.  The grass has lost its lush greenness and is looking peaked.  The giant maple that is outside my bedroom window has a few leaves clinging to the ends of the branches for dear life, but not enough to block out the light of the moon in the middle of the night.  It is so bright, I have to turn over in order to get back asleep.  It is windy, and the evenings come so fast now.  It is easy to see that it is the time of year when witches, ghosts, and goblins roam.  My three goblins need their Halloween costumes.  We will be crossing that off the list this weekend.  And we will go shopping for the perfect pumpkins as well.  Tonight we watched E.T. as a family.  It was the first time my kids had seen it.  We were all bawling like babies at the sad parts.  I love that movie, still.  I have lost count as to how many times I have watched it.  But right now, in October, when the night is spooky, is the perfect time to watch it.  I think a pot roast is in order for dinner tomorrow, with mashed potatoes.  Comfort-food and snack sized candy bars are what I am craving.

My kid’s school situation is still a mess, but the school board is now (finally) discussing a phased in approach.  Although, they couldn’t decide on anything at their last workshop.  I hope that they listen to their constituents and phase in the changes.  It is really the only way that can please everyone.  I don’t have many details.  I wish I had more time so I could be more involved, but right now life does not permit any extra curricular activities.

I don’t have to work tomorrow or Saturday because of MEA weekend.  Nobody has school.  I am so excited to be able to stay in my jammies all morning tomorrow it is ridiculous.  I work better in the morning as well, so I will begin all of the major tasks that need to be done tomorrow.  I suppose I should begin my list tonight in order to hit the ground running.

I feel the need to apologize for neglecting this space.  I try to crank out one post a week, but I haven’t even been that good.  This weekend I am going to try and do a nablopoweekend.  I don’t guarantee that it will really happen, but I am going to try.  I have one post cooking already, so hopefully I will have the extra time to do at least one more, but my goal is every day.

Anything you would like me to write about?

Comments are closed.

