Skip to content

A curious calm

November 5, 2010

The cold has taken over, but you wouldn’t know it if you looked outside.  Bright sunshine and deep blue skies abound and invite you out to play.  When you step outside, however, it is not the sun that kisses your expectant cheeks.  It is the wind that slaps them.  And, yes.  It is quite a shock.  Winter is knocking very determinedly on Autumn’s door.  The door seems thin and brittle.  We don’t have snow, but it crops up in my mind as I hurry from my car to any heated place…the store, work, home.  I haven’t gotten out my winter coat yet, but yesterday I wished that I had.  I have been stopping by Java Joe’s on campus to get hot chocolate to warm me up.

The semester is hurtling fast toward the end, and I am (of course) playing catch up.  Those days of meandering through content are decidedly over.  We are rushing through.  I am saying things like, “How are you doing with this?  Is it easy?  Can we move on?”  Heads nod as I assign yet another chapter to read for homework.  We will have test next week, and then have one chapter to go that MUST be done.  Plus, we have the novel to get through.  The novel is a beacon of hope that hangs on the horizon.  I can’t wait to get there.  Authentic teaching with a real and engaging text sounds almost like a honeymoon.  We will be reading The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime.  I haven’t even read it yet, but many friends have told me how good it is.  It is like waiting for Santa to come on Christmas morning.

I am feeling overwhelmed, but I must be getting used to that feeling.  There is a calm to it, if you can call it calm.  It definitely feels calm after the panic that has been present throughout the semester.  I am still unprepared and clueless, but now that is just how it is.  I guess that is good, because next semester I will be beginning a brand new section that will be quite different from this semester.  Kind of like switching grade levels.  The disequilibrium is familiar now.

I came here today determined to share with you the incredible experience that two (or three?) of my bloggy friends had at the Squam by the Sea Art Workshop.  The powerful message is rippling out to capture all of us.  I hope you go read Elizabeth’s post over at Mystic Vixen, and then head on over to Sam’s post at  Sunday School Rebel.  The power of their words brought tears to my eyes.  I dream of going to Squam at some point, but even if I am never able to go in person, I am thankful for those who have gone.  The experiences they share are powerful, and their message of self acceptance and encouraging every woman to be true to herself are ones that I, for one, need to hear over and over.  So, thank you ladies for bringing some of that love back and for sharing it with me.

Do you have anything to share?  I would love to read some of your words.

2 Comments
  1. November 8, 2010 12:04 am

    Thanks for the shout out, lovely. Let’s just get this straight. YOU WILL GO. Believe it. Claim it (to quote the fundamentalists)!!! You know it took me two years of longing and hoping and I still can’t quite believe it all happened for me.

    I remember really liking The Curious Incident book…I imagine it will be SO much more fun to discuss a real, live book. I like that you’ve embraced the not-knowing…just consider it a learning curve.

    It is finally, finally cold here…we haven’t turned on the heat yet, but it’s all long sleeves and layers. I had hot chocolate tonight, too.

    I miss you, my Megsie. xoxo

  2. November 11, 2010 12:29 pm

    I read that book this last summer, at Christina’s actually! I liked it a lot. There is so much to learn and discuss in it. Enjoy, and tell us about it here if you get a minute!

Comments are closed.

